The Department of Engineering Technologies provides courses in all areas of telecommunications, robotics, biomedical engineering and electrical engineering. All graduates leave with the skills and knowledge to make an immediate contribution to their fields. We also conduct research covering the latest developments shaping our world. Our research strengths include artificial intelligence in manufacturing, automation and control systems, electric vehicles, power system stability and control and signal and image processing. 

Explore our courses

Our facilities

Our people

Academic staff

Associate Professor Philip Branch
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 5847 

Dr Jason But 
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4839

Professor Zhenwei Cao

+61 3 9214 8809

Dr Rifai Chai
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8119

Dr Peggy Chan
Dr Jaideep Chandran

+61 3 9214 8840

Dr Simon Cook
Research Fellow

+61 3 9214 8304

Dr Derui Ding
Dr Michelle Dunn

+61 3 9214 8986

Dr Xiaohua (Jamie) Ge
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8908

Chris Harrison
Research Fellow
Ismat Hijazin
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8007

Dr Karyn Jarvis
Research Engineer 

+61 3 39214 3898

Dr Muhammad Awais Javed
Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 4970

Dr Jiong Jin
Senior Lecturer and HDR Advisor 

+61 3 9214 8778

Glyn Jones
Lecturer, Telecommunication 

+61 3 9214 4673

Dragi Klimovski
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8322

Dr Mehdi Korki

+61 3 9214 4761

Dr Daniel Langley
Postdoctoral Research Fellow 3D Cell Systems Group 

+61 4 0092 1261

Zhihong Man
Professor of Engineering 

+61 3 9214 5175

Professor Sally McArthur
CSIRO Research+ Science Leader, Manufacturing; Professor of Biomedical Engineering 

+61 3 9214 8452

Dr Saimon Moraes Silva
Postdoctoral Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5161

Dr Mehran Motamed Ektesabi
Associate Professor

+61 3 9214 8532

Professor Simon Moulton
Professor of Biomedical Electromaterials Science
Peter O'Donoghue 
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8317

Dr Zay Oo
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Jagdish Patra
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4952

Dr Mehdi Seyedmahmoudian
Associate Professor

+61 3 39214 552

Associate Professor Mahnaz Shafiei
Vice-Chancellor's Women in STEM Fellow 

+61 3 39214 4890

Professor Weixiang Shen

+61 3 9214 5886

Dr Rhys Shobbrook
Associate Dean Education, School of Science, Computing and Engineering Technologies

+61 3 9214 5325

Professor Paul Stoddart
Director, ARC Training Centre in Biodevices 

+61 3 9214 5839

Utami Tran
Lecturer (Teaching Intensive) 

+61 3 9214 3787

Dr Recep Ulusoy

+61 3 9214 8794

Professor Hai Vu
Professor ARC Future Fellow Head, Intelligent Transport Systems Lab (ITSL) 

+61 3 9214 8119

Associate Professor Scott Wade
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 4339

Dr Xianming Zhang
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 5735

Zhiyu Xu Postdoctoral Researcher Fellow, Department of Computing Technologies
Associate Professor Jingxin Zhang
Associate Professor; Academic Director of Research Training 

+61 3 9214 5765

Professor Cishen Zhang
Professor of Electrical Engineering

+61 3 9214 8496

Dr Jinchuan Zheng
Associate Professor; Major Discipline Coordinator of Robotics and Mechatronics Engineering 

+61 3 9214 4335

Dr Kate Firipis Research Fellow
Dr Charlotte Keatch Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr Gokul Sidarth Thirunavukkarasu Postdoctoral Reserach Fellow
Kamal Rsetam  Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Madhubhashi Dinithi Bamunuarachchi Research Associate
Lihong Tang Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Nathan Peiffer Senior Systems Engineer
Dr Armita Zarnegar Lecturer
Liam Bradley Graduate Software Engineer
Negin Foroughimehr Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Md Kafil Uddin  Postdoctoral Researcher Fellow
Bin Liu Research Fellow
Belal Alsinglawi Postdoctoral Researcher
Rohit Kaul Research Software Engineer

Latest news

    • Business
    • Technology

    Swinburne alum thrives in ever-changing Australian tech industry

    Alum Tristan Sternson’s passion for IT has sparked an incredible business journey and established him as an Australian tech industry pioneer. Since assuming the role of ARQ Group CEO in December 2019, Tristan’s leadership has played a pivotal role in transforming the company from an underperforming entity into one of Australia’s most remarkable turnaround successes within just three years.

    Wednesday 01 November 2023
  • Teisha Damman and Pete Nikoletatos from TechnologyOne
    • Student News
    • Education

    Donor scholarship sets student on cyber security path

    Swinburne University of Technology have announced the inaugural recipient of the Adrian Di Marco Women in Software Development Scholarship, offered by TechnologyOne. The scholarship recipient is Teisha Damman, who is studying a Bachelor of Information and Communications Technology.

    Wednesday 25 October 2023
  • Vishnu and Dr Alhassan standing in front of the UN Water Conference venue in New York
    • Technology
    • Sustainability

    PhD student goes to the 2023 UN Water Conference

    School of Engineering PhD student Vishnu Pillai recently landed the prestigious opportunity to attend the 2023 UN Water Conference in New York, thanks to his pioneering work on water sustainability solutions. 

    Friday 05 May 2023
  • Profile photo of student wearing blue sweater over white collared shirt
    • Technology
    • Engineering

    Newest Google recruit a Swinburne success story

    Swinburne engineer and computer sciences student Chuong Ho has been offered the role of a lifetime as a Google software engineer

    Monday 07 November 2022
  • Scientists in blue lab coats, masks and screen protector shields work in a laboratory surrounded by machinery
    • Technology
    • Science
    • Engineering

    How entrepreneurship saved Aussie lives when COVID-19 hit

    Swinburne alum Jefferson Harcourt spearheaded the rapid development of thousands of ventilators early in the COVID-19 pandemic, saving countless lives

    Friday 04 November 2022

Find more news articles about the Department of Engineering Technologies.

Explore our other department and group

Contact the Department of Engineering Technologies

For general enquiries, call 1300 794 628 to speak with our friendly team. You can also email us at

Contact us