Swinburne's emphasis on fostering innovation means that our teaching and research is always at the forefront of the latest technology. The Department of Computing Technologies is a leading powerhouse of research and teaching activity spanning the breadth of the computer science, software engineering and computer education disciplines. Our fields of research include cloud computing, role-oriented adaptive design, energy-management software, data management, computing education, cybersecurity and intelligent-agent technology. 

Explore our courses

Our facility

  • Global telecommunication network, nodes connected around earth, internet, worldwide communication

    Cisco Networking Laboratory

    At Swinburne, our Networking Laboratory can be used to build large-scale broadband networks and provides industry-accredited Cisco training for students studying electrical and telecommunications engineering and networking.

Our people

Academic staff

Name
Position
Contact
Location
Dr Iman Avazpour
Post-Doctoral Research Associate

+61 3 9214 5623 

iavazpour@swinburne.edu.au

EN510c 
Dr Abhik Banerjee
Research Fellow, IoT Lab 

+61 3 9214 3582 

abanerjee@swinburne.edu.au

EN505b.02 
Professor Angela Carbone
Associate Dean, Learning Innovation 

+61 3 9214 3586 

acarbone@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC917 
Dr Siva Chandrasekaran
Lecturer of Engineering Education/ Lead, Internet of Things Academy, FIEAust, CPEng 

+61 3 9214 5346 

schandrasekaran@swinbune.edu.au

EN508D 
Professor Tsong Chen
Professor of Software Engineering 

+61 3 9214 4369 

tychen@swinburne.edu.au

EN510d 
Professor Jinjun Chen
Deputy Director of Swinburne Data Science Research Institute 

+61 3 9214 4685 

jchen@swinburne.edu.au

 
Dr Chao Chen
Research Scientist 

+61 3 9214 3333

chaochen@swinburne.edu.au

 
Dr Caslon Chua Department Chair, Computer Science and Software Engineering 

+61 3 9214 5397 

cchua@swinburne.edu.au

EN506e 
Dr Alan Colman
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8771 

acolman@swinburne.edu.au

EN507c 
Dr Abdur Rahim Mohammad Forkan
Senior Research Engineer - Software and Data Analytics 

+61 3 9214 5148 

fforkan@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC 205.5 
Dr Carlo Galuzzi
Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4 

cgaluzzi@swinburne.edu.au

EN702a 
Professor Dimitrios Georgakopoulos
Director, Internet of Things Lab & Industry 4.0 Program Leader, Manufacturing Futures Research Institute 

+61 3 9214 4341 

dgeorgakopoulos@swinburne.edu.au

EN509b 
Professor Jun Han
Professor of Software Engineering

+61 3 9214 5732 

jhan@swinburne.edu.au

EN507b 
Dr Qiang He
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 5431 

qhe@swinburne.edu.au

EN508d 
Dr Md.Saiful Islam
Research Associate 
mdsaifulislam@swinburne.edu.au
EN403 d39 
Associate Professor Prem Prakash Jayaraman
Head, Digital Innovation Lab 

+61 3 9214 8587 

pjayaraman@swinburne.edu.au

EN502C 
Dr Yong-Bin Kang
Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5 

ykang@swinburne.edu.au

 
Tanjila Kanij
  tkanij@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Raji Kochandra
Lecturer (PAVE) and Adjunct Research Fellow 
rkochandra@swinburne.edu.au
 
Professor Ryszard Kowalczyk
Professor of Artificial Intelligence 

+61 3 9214 5834 

rkowalczyk@swinburne.edu.au

EN514b 
Dr Wei Lai
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4391 

wlai@swinburne.edu.au

EN510b 
Dr Man Lau
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4367 

elau@swinburne.edu.au

EN510a 
Dr Huai Liu
Lecturer 
hliu@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Shigang Liu
Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5702 

shigangliu@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC205.15 
Professor Chengfei Liu
Professor 

+61 3 9214 5035 

cliu@swinburne.edu.au

EN511d 
Dr Markus Lumpe
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 5272 

mlumpe@swinburne.edu.au

EN514d 
Dr Chris McCarthy
Senior Lecturer 
cdmccarthy@swinburne.edu.au
EN 508e 
Dr Matthew Mitchell
Lecturer, Information Technology 

+61 3 9214 4615

mmitchell@swinburne.edu.au

EN508f 
Dr Andreea Molnar
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 5 

amolnar@swinburne.edu.au

EN506b 
Dr Irene Moser
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4745 

imoser@swinburne.edu.au

EN504 
Dr Hong Pan
Research Fellow

+61 3 9214 4936 

hpan@swinburne.edu.au

 
Dr Charlotte Pierce
  cpierce@swinburne.edu.au
 
Professor Chris Pilgrim
Pro-Vice Chancellor, Education and Quality; Academic Registrar 

+61 3 9214 5231 

cpilgrim@swinburne.edu.au

 
Associate Professor Kai Qin
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 3766 

kqin@swinburne.edu.au

EN509a 
Mr Isuru Rajapakse
R&D Software Engineer 
rrajapakse@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Dana Rezazadegan
Lecturer 
drezazadegan@swinburne.edu.au
Melbourne, VIC 
Dr Nicole Ronald
Lecturer 
nronald@swinburne.edu.au
EN506c 
Professor Richard Sadus
Professor 

+61 3 9214 8773 

rsadus@swinburne.edu.au

EN501a 
Professor Antony Tang
Adjunct Professor 

+61 3 9214 8739 

atang@swinburne.edu.au

EN506e 
Dr Pei-Wei Tsai
Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4979 

ptsai@swinburne.edu.au

EN508d 
Dr Muhammad Usman
Postdoc Research Assistant 

+61 3 9214 3598 

musman@swinburne.edu.au

EN505c 
Associate Professor Bao Quoc Vo
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 4756 

bvo@swinburne.edu.au

EN511e 
Dr Sheng Wen
Senior Lecturer 
swen@swinburne.edu.au
EN511e 
Dr Clinton Woodward
Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 5945 

cwoodward@swinburne.edu.au

EN514c 
Professor Yun Yang
Professor 

+61 3 9214 8752 

yyang@swinburne.edu.au

EN506d 
Dr Ali Yavari
Senior Research Engineer - Software and Data Analytics 

+61 3 9214 5359 

ayavari@swinburne.edu.au

EN507a 
Associate Professor Jun Zhang
  junzhang@swinburne.edu.au
EN511b 
Dr Rui Zhou
Deputy Course Director of Bachelor of Computer Science (Professional) 

+61 3 9214 8741 

rzhou@swinburne.edu.au

EN510C 
Dr Karola von Baggo
Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8439 

kvonbaggo@swinburne.edu.au

EN508c 

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Computing Technologies.

Explore our other department

Contact the Department of Computing Technologies

For general enquiries, call 1300 794 628 to speak with our friendly team. You can also email us at Dean-SchoolofSCET@swinburne.edu.au.

Contact us