Critical and strategic thinking, aesthetic and conceptual experimentation, media literacy and the power of research drive our teaching and learning. Across the fields of communication design, branded environments, motion design, photomedia and user experience interaction design, our students and staff explore models of designer as author, producer, entrepreneur and innovator in pursuit of design excellence and design’s future.  

Explore our courses

Our projects

Our people

NAME POSITION CONTACT LOCATION
Associate Professor Carolyn Barnes Academic Director Research Training; Associate Professor +61 3 9214 6579 cbarnes@swinburne.edu.au ADMC701c
James Berrett Discipline Leader, Motion Design; Lecturer +61 3 9214 6461 jberrett@swinburne.edu.au AMDC 701
Andrew Budge Lecturer; Coordinator of Industry Placement +61 3 9214 4924 abudge@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Anna Caione Academic Tutor acaione@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Dr Jane Connory Academic Director International Partnerships; Lecturer jconnory@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Dylan Davis Lecturer +61 3 9214 6199 ddavis@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Samantha Edwards-Vandenhoek Senior Lecturer +61 3 9214 6728 sedwardsvandenhoek@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Stuart Favilla Lecturer sfavilla@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Karen Fermo Discipline Leader, Branded Environments; Lecturer +61 3 9214 3853 kfermo@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Glenn Finley Lecturer gfinley@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Emma Fisher Lecturer +61 3 9214 8941 efisher@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Joanna Gardener Discipline Leader, Photomedia; Lecturer +61 3 9214 6496 jgardener@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Andrew Haig Program Coordinator, Masters of Design; Lecturer +61 3 9214 4807 ahaig@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Associate Professor Stephen Huxley Associate Professor +61 3 9214 6909 shuxley@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711b
Dr Andrew Lane Manager, Bureau Accelerator; Lecturer +61 3 9214 6046 alane@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Lucas Licata WIL (Work Integrated Learning) Coordinator; Lecturer +61 3 9214 6155 llicata@swinburne.edu.au AMDC 701
James Marshall Senior Lecturer +61 3 9214 6089 jgmarshall@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Professor Jeni Paay Co-Discipline Leader, UX Interaction Design +61 3 9214 5615 jpaay@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701e
Dr Belinda Paulovich Lecturer +61 3 9214 6503 bpaulovich@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Associate Professor Sonja Pedell Associate Professor +61 3 9214 6079 spedell@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701f
Professor Simone Taffe School Research Director +61 3 9214 6612 staffe@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Dr Shivani Tyagi Studio Director, Bureau +61 3 9214 6198 styagi@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Dr Adam Walker Academic Tutor adwalker@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Christopher Waller Lecturer +61 3 9214 6903 cwaller@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Emily Wright Program Coordinator, Bachelor of Design; Lecturer +61 3 9214 6093 emwright@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Communication Design.

Explore our other department, centre and group

Contact the Department of Communication Design

For general enquiries, please call +61 3 9214 5174 or send an email to designadmin@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us