Staffed by committed, caring and popular teachers, the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences offers a rich variety of socially engaged and vocationally relevant courses. Areas of study are criminology, environmental sustainability, history, global studies, philosophy, politics and international relations, sociology, and Indigenous studies. Our active researchers generate new knowledge with impact on a range of pressing social questions. 

Explore our courses

Our projects

Our people

Name Position Contact Location
Associate Professor Christine Agius Associate Professor, Politics and International Relations +61 3 9214 8584
cagius@swinburne.edu.au
400B213
Dr Damon Alexander Senior Lecturer, Politics and International Relations +61 3 9214 5798
dtalexander@swinburne.edu.au
400B205
Dr Aisling Bailey Lecturer, Sociology aabailey@swinburne.edu.au 400B111
Dr Glenda Ballantyne Senior Lecturer, Sociology gballantyne@swinburne.edu.au 400B215
Dr Simone Battiston Senior Lecturer +61 3 9214 8051
sbattiston@swinburne.edu.au
400B203
Dr Peter Brace Academic Tutor, Philosophy pbrace@swinburne.edu.au 400B106
Dr Sal Clark Lecturer, Sociology and Politics sallyclark@swinburne.edu.au 400B213
Matthew Jones Senior Lecturer, Criminology mjones1@swinburne.edu.au 400B107
Professor Kay Cook Professor +61 3 9214 4526
kcook@swinburne.edu.au
AGSE307
Associate Professor Arran Gare Associate Professor, Philosophy +61 3 9214 8539
agare@swinburne.edu.au
400B221
Dr Rob Hoffman Academic Tutor, Politics roberthoffman@swinburne.edu.au 400B106
Associate Professor Karen Hughes Associate Professor, Indigenous Studies and History karenhughes@swinburne.edu.au 400B108
Dr Julie Kimber Senior Lecturer, History +61 3 9214 8103
jkimber@swinburne.edu.au
400B214
Dr Andrew Kirkpatrick Academic Tutor, Philosophy akirkpatrick@swinburne.edu.au 400B106
Dr Jeffrey Klooger Academic Tutor, Sociology jklooger@swinburne.edu.au 400B106
Professor Michael Leach Professor, Politics and International Relations +61 3 9214 5357
mleach@swinburne.edu.au
400B216
Dr Caitlin Mahar Academic Tutor, History cmahar@swinburne.edu.au 400B106
Dr Joel McGregor Lecturer, Criminology joelmcgregor@swinburne.edu.au 400B203
Dr Glenn McLaren Lecturer, Philosophy +61 3 9214 3896
gmclaren@swinburne.edu.au
400B219
Dr Andrew Peters Senior Lecturer, Indigenous Studies +61 3 9214 5107
apeters@swinburne.edu.au
400B108
Dr Kerry Ryan Lecturer, Politics and History +61 3 9214 4418
kdryan@swinburne.edu.au
400B205
Dr Hadi Sohrabi Lecturer, Sociology +61 3 9214 8074
hsohrabi@swinburne.edu.au
400B219
Associate Professor Lorenzo Veracini Associate Professor, History +61 3 9214 8505
lveracini@swinburne.edu.au
400B204
Dr Kythera Watson-Bonnice Academic Tutor, Sociology kwatsonbonnice@swinburne.edu.au 400B106
Dr Farnaz Zirakbash Academic Tutor, Sociology fzirakbash@swinburne.edu.au 400B109

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences. 

Explore our other departments and research centres

Contact the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences

For general enquiries, please call +61 3 9214 4983 or send an email to ASSHadmin@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us