The Department of Education is a unique and progressive department that engages with education’s most pressing questions and challenges. Our innovative initial teacher education programs in early childhood, primary and secondary education create outstanding educators. Through our research and teaching we explore the role of education systems, educators, children and young people in shaping equitable and remarkable futures. 

Explore our courses

Our projects

Our people

Name Position Contact Location
Ondine Bradbury Lecturer, Education AS327
Mia Y Chen Lecturer, Early Childhood Education AS327
Melinda Davis Senior Lecturer, Literacy Education AS327
Dr Anamika Devi  Senior Lecturer, Early Childhood Education  
Dr Jennifer Cutri Lecturer, Early Childhood Education  
Ms Janine Forbes-Rolfe Lecturer and Course Director, Secondary Education +61 3 9214 4866
Dr Catherine Hartung Senior Lecturer, Education +61 3 9214 8514
Associate Professor Wendy Goff Deputy Chair, Department of Education AS327
Dr Sarika Kewalramani Senior Lecturer, Education AS327
Professor Karen Malone Professor, Education AS321
Robert New Lecturer, Education AS327
Dr Maryanne Pale Lecturer, Education +61 3 9214 4611
Professor Sivanes Phillipson Chair, Education +61 3 92143531
Dr Gerarda Richards Lecturer, Early Years Education AS327
Anne Rohde Lecturer, Indigenous Education AS327
Professor Ninetta Santoro Adjunct Professor, Education  
Katrina Van Vuuren Lecturer, Education +61 3 9214 4762
Dr Tracy Charlotte Young Lecturer, Education +61 3 9214 5485
Associate Professor Damien Lyons Associate Professor, Literacy Education  
Kitty Catharina Janssen Lecturer, STEM Education and Assessment AS327

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Education.

Explore our other departments and research centres

Contact the Department of Education

For general enquiries, please call +61 3 9214 4983 or send an email to

Contact us