We bring together people from diverse disciplines and backgrounds to create an inclusive community of forward thinkers. Our world-leading research is helping communities adapt to technological change and transformative innovation of digital communication and screen media.

We’re passionate about what we teach, with our industry-engaged courses offering students highly flexible study options, real-world projects and employment opportunities across established and emerging sectors of media, communication and cultural industries.  

Explore our courses

Our projects

Our people

Name Position Contact Location
Dr Ashir Ahmed Senior Lecturer, Media Data Analytics +61 3 9214 5641
azahmed@swinburne.edu.au
BA1034
Dr Cesar Albarran-Torres Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication; Social Media Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 39214 8241
caalbarrantorres@swinburne.edu.au
AS305a
Professor Kath Albury Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4503
kalbury@swinburne.edu.au
AS415
Dr Jessica Balanzategui Lecturer, Cinema and Screen Studies +61 3 9214 4561
jbalanzategui@swinburne.edu.au
AS317
Dr Belinda Barnet Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4389
bbarnet@swinburne.edu.au
AS423
Professor Trevor Barr Emeritus Professor +61 3 9214 8106
tbarr@swinburne.edu.au
AS413
Dr Carolyn Beasley Writing Program Director; Senior Lecturer +61 3 9214 5938
cbeasley@swinburne.edu.au
AS326
Dr Diana Bossio Program Director, Media and Communication Postgraduate Program +61 3 9214 8107
dbossio@swinburne.edu.au
AS430a
Associate Professor Liam Burke Associate Professor; Cinema and Screen Studies Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 5943
wburke@swinburne.edu.au
AS429
Nagia Centurion Lecturer, Advertising +61 3 9214 8825
ncenturion@swinburne.edu.au
AS317
Dr Mark Finn Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 5254
mfinn@swinburne.edu.au
AS322
Andrew Garton Adjunct Industry Fellow 0409 948 280
agarton@swinburne.edu.au
 
Associate Professor Robert Gill Course Director, Bachelor of Media and Communication; Public Relations Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 5425
rgill@swinburne.edu.au
AS418
Professor Jock Given Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4887
jgiven@swinburne.edu.au
EW104
Dr Dan Golding Deputy Chair, Department of Media and Communication; Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication dgolding@swinburne.edu.au AS329
Dr Naja Later Lecturer, Media and Communication nlater@swinburne.edu.au  
Andrew Lynch Lecturer, Media and Communication alynch@swinburne.edu.au AS305a
Peter Marcato Lecturer, Communication; Radio and Journalism Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 8355
pmarcato@swinburne.edu.au
AS431
Associate Professor Anthony McCosker Associate Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4984
amccosker@swinburne.edu.au
AS412
Dr Joanna McIntyre Lecturer, Media and Communication; Media Industries Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 8859
joannamcintyre@swinburne.edu.au
AS431
Kerrie Milburn Lecturer, Public Relations +61 3 9214 5108
kmilburn@swinburne.edu.au
AS320a
Associate Professor Esther Milne Associate Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 8195
emilne@swinburne.edu.au
AS425
Simon Morgan Lecturer, Public Relations +61 3 9214 4865
simonmorgan@swinburne.edu.au
AS428
Anne Morton Lecturer; Advertising Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 4376
aemorton@swinburne.edu.au
AS302a
Professor Angela Ndalianis Director, Centre for Transformative Media Technologies +61 3 9214 4566
andalianis@swinburne.edu.au
AS420
Dr Julian Novitz Lecturer, Writing; Creative Writing and Literature Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 8273
jnovitz@swinburne.edu.au
AS329
Dr Julia Prendergast Senior Lecturer, Writing; Professional Writing and Editing Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 5331
jprendergast@swinburne.edu.au
AS315
Tinonee Pym Research Assistant +61 3 9214 3660
tpym@swinburne.edu.au
AS317
David Reid Lecturer, Advertising +61 3 9214 3824
dreid@swinburne.edu.au
AS401
Denby Weller Lecturer, Journalism dweller@swinburne.edu.au AS401

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Media and Communication.

Explore our other departments and research centres

Contact the Department of Media and Communication

For general enquiries, please call +61 3 9214 4983 or send an email to ASSHadmin@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us