We bring together people from diverse disciplines and backgrounds to create an inclusive community of forward thinkers. Our world-leading research is helping communities adapt to technological change and transformative innovation of digital communication and screen media.

We’re passionate about what we teach, with our industry-engaged courses offering students highly flexible study options, real-world projects and employment opportunities across established and emerging sectors of media, communication and cultural industries.  

Explore our courses

Our projects

Our people

Name Position Contact Location  
Dr Ashir Ahmed Senior Lecturer, Media Data Analytics +61 3 9214 5641
azahmed@swinburne.edu.au
BA1034  
Dr Cesar Albarran-Torres Senior Lecturer, Cinema and Screen Studies; Social Media Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 39214 8241
caalbarrantorres@swinburne.edu.au
AS305a  
Professor Kath Albury Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4503
kalbury@swinburne.edu.au
AS415  
Dr Jessica Balanzategui Senior Lecturer, Cinema and Screen Studies +61 3 9214 4561
jbalanzategui@swinburne.edu.au
AS317  
Dr Belinda Barnet Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4389
bbarnet@swinburne.edu.au
AS423  
Professor Trevor Barr Emeritus Professor +61 3 9214 8106
tbarr@swinburne.edu.au
AS413  
Dr Carolyn Beasley School Associate Director, Research and Training; Course Director, MA Writing; Senior Lecturer, Creative Writing and Literature +61 3 9214 5938
cbeasley@swinburne.edu.au
AS326  
Associate Professor Diana Bossio Associate Professor; Course Director, MA Media and Communication +61 3 9214 8107
dbossio@swinburne.edu.au
AS430a  
Associate Professor Liam Burke Associate Professor; Cinema and Screen Studies Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 5943
wburke@swinburne.edu.au
AS429  
Dr Nagia Centurion Academic Tutor, Media and Communications; Lecturer, Advertising +61 3 9214 8825
ncenturion@swinburne.edu.au
AS317  
Dr Mark Finn Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication; Media Industries Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 5254
mfinn@swinburne.edu.au
AS322  
Associate Professor Robert Gill Associate Professor, Public Relations +61 3 9214 5425
rgill@swinburne.edu.au
AS418  
Professor Jock Given Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4887
jgiven@swinburne.edu.au
EW104  
Associate Professor Dan Golding Deputy Department Chair; Associate Professor Cinema and Screen Studies dgolding@swinburne.edu.au AS329  
Dr Naja Later Academic Tutor, Media and Communication; Cinema and Screen Studies nlater@swinburne.edu.au    
Dr Andrew Lynch Academic Tutor, Media and Communication; Cinema and Screen Studies alynch@swinburne.edu.au AS305a  
Peter Marcato Lecturer, Communication and Radio Journalism Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 8355
pmarcato@swinburne.edu.au
AS431  
Professor Anthony McCosker Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 4984
amccosker@swinburne.edu.au
AS412  
Dr Joanna McIntyre Course Director, Bachelor of Media Communication program; Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 8859
joannamcintyre@swinburne.edu.au
AS431  
Dr Kerrie Milburn Lecturer, Public Relations Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 5108
kmilburn@swinburne.edu.au
AS320a  
Associate Professor Esther Milne Associate Professor, Media and Communication +61 3 9214 8195
emilne@swinburne.edu.au
AS425  
Dr Kyle Moore
Lecturer kjmoore@swin.edu.au    
Mr Simon Morgan Lecturer, Public Relations +61 3 9214 4865
simonmorgan@swinburne.edu.au
AS428  
Ms Anne Morton Lecturer; Advertising Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 4376
aemorton@swinburne.edu.au
AS302a  
Dr Julian Novitz School Academic Director Work Integrated Learning; Senior Lecturer, Creative Writing and Literature +61 3 9214 8273
jnovitz@swinburne.edu.au
AS329  
Dr Julia Prendergast Senior Lecturer, Writing; Professional Writing and Editing Major Discipline Coordinator +61 3 9214 5331
jprendergast@swinburne.edu.au
AS315  
Mr David Reid Lecturer, Advertising +61 3 9214 3824
dreid@swinburne.edu.au
AS401  
Ms Denby Weller Lecturer, Journalism dweller@swinburne.edu.au AS401  

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Media and Communication.

Explore our other departments and research centres

Contact the Department of Media and Communication

For general enquiries, please call +61 3 9214 4983 or send an email to ASSHadmin@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us