The Department of Civil and Construction Engineering combines teaching and research with industry needs to provide students with the skills required to build resilient infrastructure for a sustainable world. Our research focus includes innovative structural systems, digital design and construction, innovative construction materials, construction automation, and urban environmental and transport systems.

Explore our courses

Our civil and construction engineering courses combine strong theoretical foundations with a practical, real-world focus to give students the confidence and skills required for the workplace. 

Our facilities

  • "Acciona Geotech wholeheartedly supports Swinburne’s Work Integrated Learning program and acknowledges the quality of Swinburne’s civil engineering programs as being both practical and relevant to industry. Thanks to the diversity and robustness of Swinburne’s courses, students quickly find their feet and undertake real work and add value in a very short period of time.” 

    Dene Macleod , Business Improvement Manager, ACCIONA Geotech

Our people

Academic staff

Name
Position
Contact
Location
Kamiran Abdouka
Senior Lecturer (Structural Design) 

+61 3 9214 8680 

kabdouka@swinburne.edu.au

ATC 740 
Associate Professor Amimul Ahsan
Associate Professor 
aahsan@swinburne.edu.au
 
Professor Riadh Al-Mahaidi
Professor of Structural Engineering; Vice President (International Engagement); Director, Smart Structures Laboratory 

+61 3 9214 8429 

ralmahaidi@swinburne.edu.au

EN713c 
Dr Alaa Al-Mosawe
Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5477 

aalmosawe@swinburne.edu.au

ATC732 
Dr MD Morshed Alam
Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 5463 

mmalam@swinburne.edu.au

ATC734 
Dr Anita Amirsardari
Research Fellow 
aamirsardari@swinburne.edu.au
 
Professor Arul Arulrajah
Professor (Geotechnical Engineering) 

+61 3 9214 5741 

aarulrajah@swinburne.edu.au

ATC742 
Professor Hussein Dia
Chair, Department of Civil and Construction Engineering; Deputy Director and Program Leader (Future Urban Mobility), Smart Cities Research Institute 

+61 3 9214 5280 

hdia@swinburne.edu.au

ATC743 
Associate Professor Palaneeswaran Ekambaram
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 8526 

pekambaram@swinburne.edu.au

ATC738 
Dr Robert Evans
Senior Lecturer (Geotechnical Engineering), Department for Civil and Construction Engineering 

+61 3 9214 8233 

robertevans@swinburne.edu.au

ATC737 
Dr Shirley Gato-Trinidad
Deputy Chair - Department of Civil and Construction Engineering; Senior Lecturer (Water Engineering); and Major Discipline Coordinator (Civil Engineering-Undergraduate) 

+61 3 9214 8237

sgatotrinidad@swinburne.edu.au

ATC727
Dr Javad Hashemi
Senior Lecturer, Deputy Director, Smart Structures Laboratory 

+61 3 9214 8586 

jhashemi@swinburne.edu.au

ATC720 
Dr Rayya Hassan
Associate Professor (Road and Transport Engineering) 

+61 3 9214 8284 

rahassan@swinburne.edu.au

ATC717 
Suksun Horpibulsuk
Adjunct Professor 
shorpibulsuk@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Iqbal Hossain
Academic Tutor 

+61 3 9214 8120 

ihossain@swinburne.edu.au

TB314 
Associate Professor Monzur Imteaz
Head, Water Engineering Group 

+61 3 9214 5630 

mimteaz@swinburne.edu.au

ATC725 
Dr Piratheepan Jegatheesan
Senior Lecturer in Geotechnical Engineering, Course Coordinator (Construction Engineering) and Deputy Course Coordinator (Civil Engineering) 

+61 3 9214 5859 

pjegatheesan@swinburne.edu.au

ATC741 
Dr Robin Kalfat
Senior Lecturer in Civil and Construction Engineering, HDR Advisor 

+61 3 9214 4945 

rkalfat@swinburne.edu.au

ATC721 
Professor Julia Lamborn
Adjunct 
jlamborn@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Jessey Lee
AEFAC Training and Development Manager, Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 4741 

jesseylee@swinburne.edu.au

ATC713 
Dr Lily Li
Lecturer; Vice-Chancellor’s Research Fellow - Women in STEM 

+61 3 9214 3435 

yalili@swinburne.edu.au

EN705a 
Dr Farshid Maghool
Senior Engineer and Geotechnical Laboratory Manager 

+61 3 9214 5408 

fmaghool@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC102 
Dr Scott Menegon Research Fellow 
smenegon@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Alireza Mohammadinia
Research Fellow 
amohammadinia@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Sungkon Moon
Senior Lecturer (Construction Engineering and Project Management) and Postgraduate Program Coordinator (Risk Management) 

+61 3 9214 8721 

smoon@swinburne.edu.au

ATC722 
Dr Behzad Nematollahi
ARC DECRA Fellow; Deputy Director, Digital Construction & Concrete Laboratories

+61 3 9214 8179 

bnematollahi@swinburne.edu.au

ATC732 
Dr Boda Ning
Senior Research Engineer 
bodaning@swinburne.edu.au
ATC732 
Dr Tilak Pokharel
AEFAC National Technical Manager 

+61 3 9214 8573 

tilakpokharel@swinburne.edu.au

ATC712 
Dr Gregory Quinn
Major Discipline Coordinator for Architectural Engineering 

+61 3 9214 6 

gcquinn@swinburne.edu.au

 
Associate Professor Pat Rajeev
Associate Professor of Civil Infrastructure Engineering & Deputy Director, Centre for Smart Infrastructure and Digital Construction 

+61 3 9214 4942 

prajeev@swinburne.edu.au

ATC739 
Dr Saya Ramakrishnan
ARC DECRA Fellow 

+61 3 9214 3550 

sramakrishnan@swinburne.edu.au

ATC732 
Dr Scott Rayburg
Senior Lecturer (Water, Environment and Sustainability) 

+61 3 9214 4944 

srayburg@swinburne.edu.au

ATC729 
Jay Sanjayan
Professor 

+61 3 9214 8034 

jsanjayan@swinburne.edu.au

ATC716 
Professor Shan Shanmugananthakumar
Profeesorial Fellow 
tshanmugananthakumar@swinburne.edu.au
 
Associate Professor Hing-Ho Tsang
Postgraduate Programme Coordinator (Structural Engineering) 

+61 3 9214 5009 

htsang@swinburne.edu.au

ATC723 

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Civil Construction and Engineering.

Explore our other departments and centre

Contact the Department of Civil and Construction Engineering

For general enquiries, call 1300 794 628 to speak with our friendly team. You can also email us at Dean-SchoolofEngineering@swinburne.edu.au.

Contact us