Explore our courses

  • top view blue devices digital business website on screen

    Business Information Systems

    Business systems aren’t just technology — it's people, networks, ideas and information. Bring them all together with a business information systems course.
  • Swinburne student Emily Hazell

    Entrepreneurship and Innovation

    Business is changing. Innovation and entrepreneurship are more important than ever. Find out how you can get ahead with exciting entrepreneurship courses.

The Department of Business Technology and Entrepreneurship also offers courses in a range of exciting and growing fields including: 

We ensure our courses are taught with a focus on current trends and practices being seen across business and industry. This provides our graduates with a competitive advantage when they enter the workforce ⁠— and is why they have become so highly sought after. 

Professional recognition 

Our Business Information Systems degrees are accredited by the Australian Computer Society. 

Student affiliations and associations

The Swinburne ISACA Student Group (ISG) is an affiliated group of the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). It is the leading international association for the promotion of information security, governance, control, and the assurance of information systems. Membership of ISG is free to students. The group run regular meetings with guest speakers, social gatherings and special events.

Our research 

Our research interests are diverse and reflect emerging trends and practices such as information technology project management, e-government, social impact, emerging technologies, organisational uses of social media, information management and governance, and entrepreneurship.

Our people

Name Position Contact Location
Associate Professor Rohan Bennett Associate Professor, Information Systems +61 3 9214 4991
rohanbennett@swinburne.edu.au
BA1231
Dr Mark Dale Industry Fellow +61 3 9214 5705
mdale@swinburne.edu.au
BA1019
Dr Jerome Donovan Senior Lecturer, Entrepreneurship and Innovation +61 3 9214 8065
jdonovan@swinburne.edu.au
BA1124
Bridgette Engeler Senior Lecturer, Entrepreneurship and Innovation +61 3 9214 6152
bengeler@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Amir Eslami Andargoli Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 5238
aeslamiandargoli@swinburne.edu.au
BA1234
Dr Rosemary Fisher Lecturer, Entrepreneurship and Innovation +61 3 9214 5479
rlfisher@swinburne.edu.au
BA1225
Associate Professor Axel Korthaus Deputy Department Chair, Department of Business Technology and Entrepreneurship +61 3 9214 4711
akorthaus@swinburne.edu.au
BA1007
Dr Richard Laferriere Lecturer, Entrepreneurship +61 3 9214 5874
rlaferriere@swinburne.edu.au
BA1232
Dr Viet Le Lecturer, Entrepreneurship +61 3 9214 8053
clle@swinburne.edu.au
BA1027
Dr Eryadi Masli Lecturer, Entrepreneurship and Innovation +61 3 9214 4709
emasli@swinburne.edu.au
BA1124
Stuart McLoughlin Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 3450
smcloughlin@swinburne.edu.au
BA1127
Dr Alireza Moayedikia Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 4568
amoayedikia@swinburne.edu.au
BA1046
Dr Aron Perenyi Senior Lecturer, International Entrepreneurship +61 3 9214 8078
aperenyi@swinburne.edu.au
BA1042
Dr Adi Prananto Senior Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 5003
aprananto@swinburne.edu.au
BA1103
Dr Andrew Rixon Lecturer, Entrepreneurship +61 3 9214 3837
arixon@swinburne.edu.au
BA1232
Dr Dimitrios Salampasis Lecturer, Entrepreneurship +61 3 9214 8204
dsalampasis@swinburne.edu.au
BA1232
Dr Jason Sargent Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 5287
jpsargent@swinburne.edu.au
BA1009
Professor Helana Scheepers Professor, Information Systems +61 3 9214 5422
hscheepers@swinburne.edu.au
BA1223
Dr Paul Scifleet Senior Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 5586
pscifleet@swinburne.edu.au
BA1121
Dr Michael Shumanov Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 4515
mshumanov@swinburne.edu.au
BA1234
Dr Suku Sukunesan

Director, Postgraduate Programs

Senior Lecturer, Information Systems

+61 3 9214 4373
ssinnappan@swinburne.edu.au
BA1013
Professor Mile Terziovski Chair, Department of Business Technology and Entrepreneurship +61 3 9214 8559
mterziovski@swinburne.edu.au
BA1206
Dr Xuemei Tian Senior Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 4433
stian@swinburne.edu.au
BA1017
Robert Tipping Lecturer, Information Systems +61 3 9214 8417
rtipping@swinburne.edu.au
BA1040
Dr Chamindika Weerakoon Lecturer, Entrepreneurship and Innovation +61 3 9214 3503
cweerakoon@swinburne.edu.au
BA1010
Associate Professor Marina Zhang Associate Professor, Entrepreneurship and Innovation +61 3 9214 3493
myzhang@swinburne.edu.au
BA1032
Name Contact
Siddha Arumugam sarumugam@swinburne.edu.au
Reet Kaur rkkaur@swinburne.edu.au
Vivien Li vli@swinburne.edu.au
Ruchi Sembey rsaraf@swinburne.edu.au
Abbas Siddiqui asiddiqui@swinburne.edu.au

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Business Technology and Entrepreneurship. 

Explore our other departments, research centre and groups