The Department of Chemistry and Biotechnology promotes the development of fundamental, applied and industrial research in chemistry, biotechnology and environmental science, with a strong emphasis on innovation and industry collaboration, as well as multidisciplinary research. We have active research in a number of key strategic areas including battery development, artificial photosynthesis, drug delivery, surface and biointerface science, molecular biotechnology, microbiology, cell biology, environmental biotechnology and sustainability. We are part of the ARC funded Training Centre, the Centre for Surface Engineering for Advanced Materials (SEAM) and the Centre for Translational Atomaterials

Explore our courses

Did you know?

Our multidisciplinary research is ranked “above or well above world standard” across chemical and biological sciences, engineering and technology as recognised by the Australian Research Council’s Excellence in Research in Australia (ERA). Key areas include physical chemistry, theoretical and computational chemistry, analytical chemistry, macromolecular and materials chemistry, microbiology, biomedical engineering, nanotechnology and materials engineering. 

Our facilities

  • Science beakers with chemicals.

    Chemistry and biotechnology laboratories

    Our chemistry and biotechnology laboratories here at Swinburne support a range of teaching activities as well as applied and industrial research in chemistry, biochemistry, environmental science and biotechnology.

Our people

Academic staff

Name
Position
Contact
Location
Professor Mark Adams 
Professor of BioScience & Innovation 
maadams@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Vito Butardo
Lecturer in Biotechnology 

+61 3 39214 3715 

vbutardo@swinburne.edu.au

AS211 
Dr Brett Cromer 
Senior Lecturer in Biotechnology 
+61 3 92148839 
AS217 
Louise Dunn
Senior Lecturer in Public and Environmental Health 

+61 3 9214 8770 

ldunn@swinburne.edu.au

AS218 
Dr Daniel Eldridge
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry  

+61 3 9214 5681 

deldridge@swinburne.edu.au

AS222 
Dr Rosalie Hocking
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry 

+61 3 9214 5840 

rhocking@swinburne.edu.au

AS212 
Professor Peter Kingshott
Professor of Surface Engineering, Department Research Director 

+61 3 9214 5033 

pkingshott@swinburne.edu.au

AS224 
Professor Steven Langford

Dean, Research and Development,  

Professor of Chemistry 

+61 3 9214 3 

sjlangford@swinburne.edu.au

EN610d 
Dr Peter Mahon
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry 

+61 3 9214 4880 

pmahon@swinburne.edu.au

AS219 
Dr Francois Malherbe
Senior Lecturer in Chemistry 

+61 3 9214 5361 

fmalherbe@swinburne.edu.au

AS210 
Dr Sarah McLean
Lecturer in Public and Environmental Health 

+61 3 9214 5113 

smclean@swinburne.edu.au

AS204
Professor Enzo Palombo
Professor of Microbiology 

+61 3 9214 8571 

epalombo@swinburne.edu.au

AS226 
Dr Stephen Poropat
Postdoctoral Fellow Palaeontology 

+61 3 9214 5152 

sporopat@swinburne.edu.au

AS213 
Professor Patricia Vickers-Rich
Professor of Palaeobiology 
prich@swin.edu.au
AS213 
Dr Rohan Shah
Academic Tutor  

+61 3 9214 8 

rshah@swinburne.edu.au

AS202 
Dr Huseyin Sumer
Lecturer in Biotechnology  

+61 3 9214 8687 

hsumer@swinburne.edu.au

AS211 
Associate Professor Chenghua Sun 
Associate Professor of Chemistry 
+61 3 9214 8893 
AS208 
Dr George Wang
 Senior Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5939 

pengyuanwang@swinburne.edu.au

ATC817 
Professor Feng Wang
Professor of Chemistry 

+61 3 9214 5065 

fwang@swinburne.edu.au

AS206 
Dr Hayden Webb
Lecturer in Biotechnology and Chemistry 

+61 3 9214 5183 

hkwebb@swinburne.edu.au

AS229 
Associate Professor Aimin Yu
Associate Professor of Chemistry 

+61 3 9214 8161 

aiminyu@swinburne.edu.au

AS 214 
Dr Bita Zaferanloo
Lecturer in Biotechnology 

+61 3 9214 8214 

bzaferanloo@swinburne.edu.au

AS229 

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Chemistry and Biotechnology.

Explore our other departments and centre

Contact the Department of Chemistry and Biotechnology

For general enquiries, call 1300 794 628 to speak with our friendly team. You can also email us at fset-info@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us