Academic staff

Name Contact details Research interests
Distinguished Professor Matthew Bailes

mbailes@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8782

Pulsars
Professor Chris Blake

cblake@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8624

Cosmology; Teaching and learning
Distinguished Professor Jean Brodie

jbrodie@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3533

Extragalactic globular clusters; Galaxy formation
Associate Professor Michelle Cluver

mcluver@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3484

Group galaxy evolution
Associate Professor Jeff Cooke

jeffreycooke@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5392

High redshift galaxies and supernovae; Transients; Counterparts to gravitational waves
Professor Warrick Couch
(Australian ELT Project Scientists)

wcouch@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3875

Galaxies; Dark energy
Professor Darren Croton
(Research Initiatives Coordinator)

dcroton@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5537

Galaxies; Cosmology: theory and modelling
Associate Professor Adam Deller

adeller@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5307

Pulsars; Fast radio bursts; Radio interferometry; Astrometry; Instrumentation
Professor Alan Duffy

aduffy@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 92143876

Galaxy formation; Dark matter; Hydrodynamical simulations; Outreach
Kim Ellis
(Senior Lecturer)
kgellis@swinburne.edu.au Space research and governance
Associate Professor Deanne Fisher
(Keck Technical Secretary)

dfisher@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4996

Galaxy and star formation
Professor Christopher Fluke

cfluke@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5828

Advanced visualisation; Data-driven science
Professor Duncan Forbes

dforbes@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4392

Globular clusters; galaxies
Distinguished Professor Karl Glazebrook

kglazebrook@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4384

Cosmology; Galaxies; Astronomical instrumentation
Professor Alister Graham

agraham@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8784

Galaxies; Black holes
Professor Jarrod Hurley
(Supercomputing Manager)

jhurley@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5787

Binaries; Star clusters
Associate Professor Glenn Kacprzak

gkacprzak@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4384

Galaxy evolution
Professor Virginia Kilborn

vkilborn@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4380

Galaxies; Structure formation: theory and modelling
Associate Professor Ivo Labbe ilabbe@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy formation and evolution; First galaxies
Professor Sarah Maddison
(Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Innovation and Change))

smaddison@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5971

Planet formation; Disc evolution
Professor Jeremy Mould
(CAASTRO Coordinator)

jmould@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4921

Galaxies; Cosmology; Late stages of stellar evolution
Professor Michael Murphy

mmurphy@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5818

Cosmology; Quasar absorption lines; Varying fundamental constants
Associate Professor Emma Ryan-Weber

eryanweber@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4746

Galaxies; Intergalactic medium; Reionisation
Associate Professor Ryan Shannon

rshannon@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5205

 
Associate Professor Edward Taylor

entaylor@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5165

The formation and evolution of galaxies over time

Adjuncts

Name Contact details Research interests
Dr Anna Ferre-Mateu aferremateu@gmail.com Ultra diffuse galaxies
Associate Professor Kurt Liffman

kliffman@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5307

Planets, jets and meteorites

Postdoctoral fellows

Name Contact details Research interests
Dr Rebecca Allen

rebeccaallen@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5846

Astronomical and space sciences; Curriculum and pedagogy
Dr Jacobo Asorey Barreiro jasoreybarreiro@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Rob Bassett
(Research Associate)

rbassett@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5706

Astro 3D
Dr Dorota Bayer dbayer@swinburne.edu.au Dark matter
Dr Andrew Cameron andrewcameron@swinburne.edu.au Advanced statistics and big data; Pulsars
Dr Rebecca Davies rdavies@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Dougal Dobie ddobie@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Colin Jacobs

colinjacobs@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8128

Deep learning; The search for gravitational lenses
Dr Fan Liu

fanliu@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5244

Stellar spectroscopy; Solar twins; Galactic archeology
Dr Themiya Nanayakkara

wnanayakkara@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8546

Galaxies; Cosmology
Dr Nikole Nielsen

nikolenielsen@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5887

Galaxy evolution; Circumgalactic medium; Quasar absorption lines
Dr Jade Powell
(DECRA Fellow)
jpowell@swinburne.edu.au Analysis of gravitational wave data from the LIGO and Virgo detectors
Dr Daniel Reardon

dreardon@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3329

OzGrav in the pulsar timing division
Rossana Ruggeri rruggeri@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Manodeep Sinha

msinha@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4918

Simulations; Galaxy evolution; Theoretical astrophysical observatory
Dr Simon Stevenson
(OzGrav Postdoctoral Researcher)

spstevenson@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4841

Gravitational waves; Binary evolution

Technical and Support staff

Name Contact details Role
Eman Ali

eali@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5093

ADACS Software Support
Emma Barnett

ejbarnett@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3786

ASTRO 3D Education and Outreach Officer
Jacqueline Bondell

jbondell@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8351

OzGrav - Education and Public Outreach Coordinator
Jesmigel Cantos

jcantos@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4600

ADACS/GWDC Systems Support
Leonie Chevalier lchevalier@swinburne.edu.au ADACS Software/Training Support
Patrick Clearwater pclearwater@swinburne.edu.au GWDC Software Support
Dr Alex Codoreanu

acodoreanu@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3750

GWDC Software Support
Dr Yeshe Fenner

yeshefenner@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8302

COO for OzGrav
Will Gauvin wgauvin@swinburne.edu.au ADACS Software Support, Adaptive Optics
Lisa Horsley

lhorsley@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4315

Research coordinator - OzGrav
Andrew Jameson

ajameson@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5612

Research Software and Systems Engineer
Carl Knox

cknox@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8891

OzGrav - Digital Media and Marketing Officer
Lewis Lakerink

llakerink@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4600

ADACS/OzSTAR Astronomy Software Support
Mark Myers markmyers@swinburne.edu.au  
Erin O'Grady

eogrady@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8246

OzGrav - Executive Assistant
Dr Gregory Poole

gpoole@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5301

ADACS Astronomy Data Science Program Coordinator
Tom Reichardt treichardt@swinburne.edu.au GWDC Software Support
Dr Shibli Saleheen

ssaleheen@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5064

ADACS Astronomy Software/Systems Support
Ray Seikel

rseikel@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5622

TAO Senior Software Engineer
Bec Todd

bltodd@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4520

Research Coordinator, GWDC

Swinburne Astronomy Productions

Name Contact details Role
Dr Rebecca Allen

rebeccaallen@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5014

Space Industry Coordinator and Outreach Management

Postgraduate students

Name Contact details Research interests
Gurvarinder ggurvarinder@swinburne.edu.au Galaxies in the cosmic web
Poojan Agrawal pagrawal@swinburne.edu.au Stellar dynamics and globular cluster evolution; Binary stellar evolution
Jacob Askew    
Waqas Bashir wbashir@swinburne.edu.au Quasar absorption systems; Cosmology
Adam Batten abatten@swinburne.edu.au IGM; Metal absorption systems; FRBs; Mock observables
Daniel Berke dberke@swinburne.edu.au Variations in fundamental constants
Geoffrey Bryan gbryan@swinburne.edu.au Planets group
Debatri Chattopadhyay dchattopadhyay@swinburne.edu.au Gravitational waves; Star clusters; Population synthesis: binary neutron stars and black holes
Cherie Day cday@swinburne.edu.au UTMOST-2D; Fast radio burst localisation; Instrumentation; Radio interferometry
Hao Ding haoding@swinburne.edu.au VLBI astrometry; Radio interferometry; Pulsar timing
Mitchell Dixon mdixon@swinburne.edu.au The astronomical distance ladder
Burak Dogruel bdogruel@swinburne.edu.au Galaxies; Cosmology
Arianna Dolfi adolfi@swinburne.edu.au S0 galaxy formation
James Esdaile jesdaile@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy evolution at high redshift
Dr. Garry Foran gforan@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy formation and evolution
Jonah Gannon jgannon@swinburne.edu.au Hunting ghost galaxies
Simon Goode sgoode@swinburne.edu.au Machine learning in transient astronomy
Vivek Gupta vivekgupta@swinburne.edu.au Fast radio burst searching algorithms and analysis
Pol Gurri Perez pgurriperez@swinburne.edu.au Gravitational lensing; Dark matter
Suei-Hei (Dexter) Hon shon@swinburne.edu.au Massive compact spheroids
Tyler Hughes tjhughes@swinburne.edu.au  
Geray Karademir gkarademir@swinburne.edu.au Clustering redshifts
Pravir Kumar pravirkumar@swinburne.edu.au Pulsars and transients group focusing on ASKAP fast radio bursts
Grace Lawrence glawrence@swinburne.edu.au The distribution of dark matter on the galactic scale
Christian Lehmann clehmann@swinburne.edu.au Measurement of fundamental constants in solar twins
Marcus Lower mlower@swinburne.edu.au Pulsar timing; Bayesian inference; Testing general relativity
Stuart Lyall syall@swinburne.edu.au  
Ayushi Mandlik amandlik@swinburne.edu.au Real-time fast radio burst detection using machine learning
Monserrat Martinez mmartinezmarin@swinburne.edu.au  
Daniel McPherson dmcpherson@swinburne.edu.au Stellar population models
Matthew Miles matthewmiles@swinburne.edu.au Pulsars; Gravitational radiation
Ally Morton    
Chandrashekar Murugeshan cmurugeshan@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy evolution using HI observations
Aaron Myszka amyszka@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy lifecycles
Hasti Nateghi hnateghi@swinburne.edu.au Circumgalactic medium; Quasar absorption lines; Galaxy evolution; Spectral data reduction
Brodie Norfolk bnorfolk@swinburne.edu.au Transition disks; Radiative transfer; Machine learning
Sera Jade Rauhut srauhut@swinburne.edu.au Testing gravitational theories
Bronwyn Reichardt Chu breichardtchu@swinburne.edu.au Star-forming galaxies; Galaxy outflows
Nandini Sahu nsahu@swinburne.edu.au Massive galaxy; Massive black hole connections
Juan Manuel Espejo Salcedo jespejosalcedo@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy evolution; Angular momentum
Rahul Sengar rsengar@swinburne.edu.au Binary pulsars; Testing general relativity
Mohsen Shamohammadi mshamohammadi@swinburne.edu.au Machine learning in radio pulsar searching and timing
Shingo Tanigawa stanigawa@swinburne.edu.au  
Liyualem Ambachew ltilahun@swinburne.edu.au  
Dian Triani dtriani@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy formation; Computational astronomy
Ryan Turner rjturner@swinburne.edu.au Cosmology
Adam Ussing aussing@swinburne.edu.au  
Ellert.van.der Velden evandervelden@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy structure and dynamics; Bayesian statistics; Python 2/3; Computational algorithms
Sara Webb swebb@swinburne.edu.au Deeper, Wider, Faster program; Fast radio bursts

Explore more of our research centre

Contact the Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing

If you have any questions, or are looking for more information, feel free to contact our office on +61 3 9214 8000 or at contact@astro.swin.edu.au.

Contact us