Each school and department has a liaison librarian who is your contact in the library. Liaison librarians are subject and resource specialists who provide information, teaching and research support to staff and students. 


Liaison librarians can help you:

  • Source new and relevant library materials to support your units 
    Contact us if there are required and recommended texts you would like your students to use. If you are teaching a new or revised course or unit, we can help you identify relevant resources. Purchase of new material is guided by library collections governance

  • Manage reading lists 
    We can help you make your reading material available to students in Canvas or the library catalogue, through the Subject Materials Service.

  • Create links to library resources in Canvas units 
    We can help you create copyright-compliant links (log-in required) to online resources in Canvas courses. If your course is partially or fully online, we can help you source relevant online resources.

  • Use copyright-protected material in teaching and learning 
    Ask us about using copyright-protected material in your teaching or consult Copyright for Teachers (login required). We can source copyright-compliant resources for use in your units.

  • Develop students' research skills 
    We will work with you to develop tailored training programs linked to assessment requirements for your students. We offer digital literacy and research skills sessions to students at all levels, including advanced training in discipline-specific databases. Contact us to arrange sessions during your tutorials or lectures.

  • Develop students' referencing skills 
    Invite your students to consult our referencing guides and ask us about EndNote training for your students.

  • Support Higher Degree Research students 
    Are you supervising higher-degree research students? Liaison librarians offer research consultations and assistance to research students at any stage of their degree. Simply refer your students to their liaison librarian or contact us to arrange an appointment or group training session on your students’ behalf.
     

Contact a librarian

Department and librarian Email Phone number
Manager, Research and Academic Engagement    
Leanne Trembath ltrembath@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 8899
Business and Law    
Jane O'Donnell (Team Leader) jodonnell@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 8983
Sue Foster sfoster@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 5197
Health, Arts and Design    
Annette Steere (Team Leader) asteere@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 8177
David Bradley dbradley@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 6940
Cleve Carvalho (Hawthorn) ccarvalho@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 6553
Emma Niehof (Wantirna) eniehof@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9215 1263
English as an Additional Language (EAL)    
Leanne Meere lmeere@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 3486
Science, Engineering and Technology    
Kim Hodgman (Team Leader) khodgman@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 8407
Nick Pavlovski npavlovski@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 4671
Research services    
Emilie Johnson eljohnson@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 8331
Melinda Goodin mgoodin@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 4670
Inter-library loans    
Mez Wilkinson mwilkinson@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 8250
Disability liaison    
Sue Foster sfoster@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 5197
Leanne Meere lmeere@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 3486
Subject materials, OUA and Swinburne Online    
Geeta Pandey gpandey@swinburne.edu.au +61 3 9214 4869

Need help?

Ask us a question or leave us feedback by emailing library@swinburne.edu.au or calling 1300 794 628. Alternatively, complete this form so our team members can get in touch with you. 

Contact us