Dr. Leonie Walsh

Appointed by the Governor-in-Council

Dr. Leonie Walsh, former Victorian Lead Scientist, has extensive experience in management and commercialisation of research and development and has had a long association with Swinburne.

Dr. Walsh holds a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Science from Swinburne and received an Honorary Doctorate from the university in November 2014 for contributions and leadership in scientific enterprises, innovation and the community. She also holds a Master in Business Administration from the Australian Graduate School of Management, is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

From 2013-2016 she was the first Lead Scientist in Victoria. She was also the inaugural Women in STEMM Ambassador, supporting gender equity in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine, and the first woman president of the Australasian Industrial Research Group.

Over a career spanning 30 years, she has worked in Australia and internationally, building a reputation for driving strategic commercial improvements and innovation in the organisations in which she has worked.

Prior to her appointment as Lead Scientist, Dr. Walsh worked for Dow Chemical both locally and internationally and also for companies including Visy Industries, South East Water and Henkel in Victoria. She has led a broad range of research and development (R&D) groups, business functions and has also provided support to technology-based start-up companies.

Leonie has combined her professional career with honorary roles as the Chair and President of the Fight Cancer Foundation and a non-executive Director of the Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry providing care, services and support for cancer patients and their families and funding vital research into cancer treatment.

Dr Walsh’s current areas of activity help to bridge industry, government and academia across sectors including education, renewable energy, advanced manufacturing, clean technology, the circular economy and health services. 

Current Committees

  • Resources Committee (2020 – current)