Leadership group

Academic staff

Name Contact details Research interests
Distinguished Professor Matthew Bailes

mbailes@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8782

Pulsars
Professor Chris Blake

cblake@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8624

Cosmology; Teaching and learning
Distinguished Professor Jean Brodie jbrodie@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Michelle Cluver

mcluver@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3484

Group galaxy evolution
Associate Professor Jeff Cooke

jeffreycooke@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5392

High redshift galaxies and supernovae; Transients; Counterparts to gravitational waves
Professor Warrick Couch
(Australian ELT Project Scientists)

wcouch@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3875

Galaxies; Dark energy
Professor Darren Croton
(Research Initiatives Coordinator)

dcroton@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5537

Galaxies; Cosmology: theory and modelling
Associate Professor Adam Deller

adeller@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5307

Pulsars; Fast radio bursts; Radio interferometry; Astrometry; Instrumentation
Professor Alan Duffy

aduffy@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 92143876

Galaxy formation; Dark matter; Hydrodynamical simulations; Outreach
Kim Ellis
(Senior Lecturer)
kgellis@swinburne.edu.au Space research and governance
Associate Professor Deanne Fisher
(Keck Technical Secretary)

dfisher@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4996

Galaxy and star formation
Professor Christopher Fluke

cfluke@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5828

Advanced visualisation; Data-driven science
Professor Duncan Forbes

dforbes@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4392

Globular clusters; galaxies
Distinguished Professor Karl Glazebrook

kglazebrook@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4384

Cosmology; Galaxies; Astronomical instrumentation
Professor Alister Graham

agraham@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8784

Galaxies; Black holes
Professor Jarrod Hurley
(Supercomputing Manager)

jhurley@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5787

Binaries; Star clusters
Associate Professor Glenn Kacprzak

gkacprzak@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4384

Galaxy evolution
Professor Virginia Kilborn

vkilborn@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4380

Galaxies; Structure formation: theory and modelling
Associate Professor Ivo Labbe ilabbe@swinburne.edu.au Galaxy formation and evolution; First galaxies
Professor Sarah Maddison
(Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Innovation and Change))

smaddison@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5971

 
Professor Jeremy Mould
(CAASTRO Coordinator)

jmould@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4921

Galaxies; Cosmology; Late stages of stellar evolution
Professor Michael Murphy

mmurphy@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5818

Cosmology; Quasar absorption lines; Varying fundamental constants
Associate Professor Emma Ryan-Weber

eryanweber@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4746

Galaxies; Intergalactic medium; Reionisation
Associate Professor Ryan Shannon

rshannon@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5205

 
Associate Professor Edward Taylor

entaylor@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5165

The formation and evolution of galaxies over time

Adjuncts

Postdoctoral fellows

Name Contact details Research interests
Dr Rob Bassett
(Research Associate)

rbassett@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5706

Astro 3D
Dorota Bayer dbayer@swinburne.edu.au Dark matter
Dr Benjamin Davis

benjamindavis@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5536

Spiral galaxy structure; Supermassive black holes
Dr Mark Durre

mdurre@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5354

Supermassive black holes; Galactic nuclei
Dr Chris Flynn

cflynn@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5532

Swinburne Pulsar Portal implementation for ANDS
Dr Marianne Girard

mgirard@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3420

Evolution of galaxies
Dr Colin Jacobs

colinjacobs@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8128

Deep learning; The search for gravitational lenses
Dr Fan Liu

fanliu@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5244

Stellar spectroscopy; Solar twins; Galactic archeology
Dr Themiya Nanayakkara

wnanayakkara@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8546

Galaxies; Cosmology
Dr Nikole Nielsen

nikolenielsen@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5887

Galaxy evolution; Circumgalactic medium; Quasar absorption lines
Dr Jade Powell jpowell@swinburne.edu.au Analysis of gravitational wave data from the LIGO and Virgo detectors
Dr Daniel C Price
(Breakthrough Listen project scientist)

dcprice@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4331

FRBs with UTMOST
Dr Daniel Reardon

dreardon@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3329

OzGrav in the pulsar timing division
Dr Rossana Ruggeri rruggeri@swinburne.edu.au Cosmology
Dr Manodeep Sinha

msinha@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4918

Simulations; Galaxy evolution; Theoretical astrophysical observatory
Dr Simon Stevenson
(OzGrav Postdoctoral Researcher)

spstevenson@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4841

Gravitational waves; Binary evolution
Dr Tiantian Yuan

tiantianyuan@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5948

High-redshift galaxies; Metallicity gradient; Spiral arm formation
Dr Jielai Zhang

jielaizhang@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8406

Transients; EM counterparts to gravitational wave events; Low surface brightness imaging

Technical and Support staff

Name Contact details Role
Eman Ali

eali@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5093

ADACS Software Support
Emma Barnett

ejbarnett@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3786

ASTRO 3D Education and Outreach Officer
Jacqueline Bondell

jbondell@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8351

OzGrav - Education and Public Outreach Coordinator
Jesmigel Cantos

jcantos@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4600

ADACS/GWDC Systems Support
Leonie Chevalier lchevalier@swinburne.edu.au ADACS Software/Training Support
Patrick Clearwater pclearwater@swinburne.edu.au GWDC Software Support
Dr Alex Codoreanu

acodoreanu@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 3750

GWDC Software Support
Dr Yeshe Fenner

yeshefenner@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8302

COO for OzGrav
Will Gauvin wgauvin@swinburne.edu.au ADACS Software Support, Adaptive Optics
Lisa Horsley

lhorsley@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4315

Research coordinator - OzGrav
Andrew Jameson

ajameson@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5612

Research Software and Systems Engineer
Carl Knox

cknox@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8891

OzGrav - Digital Media and Marketing Officer
Lewis Lakerink

llakerink@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4600

ADACS/OzSTAR Astronomy Software Support
Sue Lester

suelester@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8427

CAASTRO administrator
Mark Myers markmyers@swinburne.edu.au  
Erin O'Grady

eogrady@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 8246

OzGrav - Executive Assistant
Dr Stefan Oslowski

stefanoslowski@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4306

GWDC Software Support
Dr Gregory Poole

gpoole@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5301

ADACS Astronomy Data Science Program Coordinator
Tom Reichardt treichardt@swinburne.edu.au GWDC Software Support
Dr Shibli Saleheen

ssaleheen@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5064

ADACS Astronomy Software/Systems Support
Ray Seikel

rseikel@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5622

TAO Senior Software Engineer
Bec Todd

bltodd@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 4520

Research Coordinator, GWDC

Swinburne Astronomy Productions

Name Contact details Role
Dr Rebecca Allen

rebeccaallen@swinburne.edu.au

+61 3 9214 5014

Space Industry Coordinator and Outreach Management
James Josephides jjosephides@swinburne.edu.au Digital Media Designer

Postgraduate students

Name Research interests
Gurvarinder Galaxies in the cosmic web
Suei-Hei (Dexter) Hon Massive compact spheroids
Poojan Agrawal Stellar dynamics and globular cluster evolution; Binary Stellar Evolution
Waqas Bashir Quasar absorption systems; Cosmology
Adam Batten IGM; Metal absorption systems; FRBs; Mock observables
Daniel Berke Variations in fundamental constants
Geoffrey Bryan Planets group
Debatri Chattopadhyay Gravitational waves; Star clusters; Population synthesis: binary neutron stars and black holes
Cherie Day UTMOST-2D; Fast radio burst localisation; Instrumentation; Radio interferometry
Hao Ding VLBI astrometry; Radio interferometry; Pulsar timing
Mitchell Dixon The astronomical distance ladder
Burak Dogruel Galaxies; Cosmology
Arianna Dolfi S0 galaxy formation
James Esdaile Galaxy evolution at high redshift
Dr. Garry Foran Galaxy formation and evolution
Jonah Gannon Hunting ghost galaxies
Simon Goode Machine learning in transient astronomy
Vivek Gupta Fast radio burst searching algorithms and analysis
Pol Gurri Perez Gravitational lensing; Dark matter
Geray Karademir Clustering redshifts
Pravir Kumar Pulsars and transients group focusing on ASKAP fast radio bursts
Grace Lawrence The distribution of dark matter on the galactic scale
Christian Lehmann Measurement of fundamental constants in solar twins
Marcus Lower Pulsar timing; Bayesian inference; Testing general relativity
Ayushi Mandlik Real-time fast radio burst detection using machine learning
Daniel McPherson Stellar population models
Matthew Miles Pulsars; Gravitational radiation
Chandrashekar Murugeshan Galaxy evolution using HI observations
Aaron Myszka Galaxy lifecycles
Hasti Nateghi Circumgalactic medium; Quasar absorption lines; Galaxy evolution; Spectral data reduction
Brodie Norfolk Transition disks; Radiative transfer; Machine learning
Sera Jade Rauhut Testing gravitational theories
Bronwyn Reichardt Chu Star-forming galaxies; Galaxy outflows
Nandini Sahu Massive galaxy; Massive black hole connections
Juan Manuel Espejo Salcedo Galaxy evolution; Angular momentum
Rahul Sengar Binary pulsars; Testing general relativity
Mohsen Shamohammadi Machine learning in radio pulsar searching and timing
Shingo Tanigawa  
Liyualem Tilahun  
Dian Triani Galaxy formation; Computational astronomy
Ryan Turner Cosmology
Ellert.van.der Velden Galaxy structure and dynamics; Bayesian statistics; Python 2/3; Computational algorithms
Sara Webb Deeper, Wider, Faster program; Fast radio bursts

Explore more of our research centre

Contact the Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing

If you have any questions, or are looking for more information, feel free to contact our office on +61 3 9214 8000 or at contact@astro.swin.edu.au.

Contact us