In Summary

  • Swinburne staff and alumni have been recognised for their service and achievements in the 2020 Australia Day honours list

  • Swinburne’s former Chancellor, Mr Graham Goldsmithhas been awarded an Order of Australia (AO)
  • Swinburne Emeritus ProfessorJohn Fitzgerald, was made a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for service to higher education

A past Chancellor, a prominent China expert, a cross-cultural consultant and a former Premier of Victoria are among the Swinburne community members recognised in the 2020 Australia Day honours list. 

Mr Graham Goldsmith, a long-time Swinburne Council member who completed his term as Chancellor last year, has been named as an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his distinguished service to the community, through philanthropic foundations, education, and to the banking and employment sectors.  

Swinburne Emeritus Professor, John Fitzgerald, was made a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for significant service to higher education, particularly in the field of Chinese studies.   

Alumna Tasneem Chopra has been recognised with a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to the community through a range of roles. This includes as Chair of the Australian Muslim Women's Centre for Human Rights and Board Member for ACMI. 

Former Premier of Victoria and Swinburne adjunct professor until 2019, Ted Baillieu, has been appointed an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his distinguished service to the people and Parliament of Victoria, and to international engagement.  

Recognising the Swinburne community

The Australia Day honours list recognises outstanding and inspirational Australians. 

Other Swinburne community members recognised this year are: 

Officers of the Order (OA)

  • Mr Peter Fritz AMChair of the Advisory Board for Swinburne’s Centre for Social Impact (2008-2009), for distinguished service to business, particularly to information technology and communications, and to public policy.  
  • Mr Samuel Lipski AMSwinburne Council Member (1995-2005), for distinguished service to the community through the promotion of strategic philanthropy, to education, and to Australia-Israel relations 

Peter and Samuel are among just 15 recipients to have previously received an award in the Order - their appointment to a higher category recognises continued service and a higher level of contribution. 

Members of the Order (AM)

  • Hartley Hanson QC, member of Swinburne’s Human Research Ethics Committee (2013-2017), for significant service to the law and to professional associations 
  • Mr Damian John Smith, Unit Author and Examiner of the Risk Management Principles, for significant service to business through a range of roles 
  • Sarah Kate Davis, former Swinburne staff member, recognised for significant service to the community through a range of executive roles 
  • The Hon Charles Rod Kemp, former Chairman of the National Institute of Circus Arts (NICA), for significant service to the Parliament of Australia and to the people of Victoria 
  • Janet Patricia Matton, Board President of ACMI and Swinburne alumna, for significant service to the information technology and health sectors 
  • Sabine Cornelia Phillips, Swinburne alumna, for significant service to aged welfare and to the legal profession 

Medal of the Order (OAM)

  • Dr Catherine BrownSwinburne alumnafor service to the community through charitable organisations 
  • Patrice Rene MahoneySwinburne alumna, for service to the Indigenous community of Victoria 
  • Patricia L Burke, Swinburne alumna, for service to the community through charitable organisations 
  • Linda George, Swinburne alumna, recognised for service to music education 
  • Gillian Ruth Hund, Swinburne alumna, recognised for service to charitable organisations

Public Service Medal (PSM)

  • Wilma Falcone, Swinburne alumna, for outstanding public service to the social housing sector in New South Wales

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM)

  • Peter John Shaw, Swinburne alumnus

Emergency Services Medal (ESM)

  • John William Hooper, Swinburne alumnus


Media enquiries

0455 502 999