In Summary

  • 171 Swinburne students will have access to funding
  • The New Colombo Plan gives Australian students opportunities to study in the Indo Pacific region


The Australian Government has announced 171 Swinburne University of Technology students will have access to funding as part of the 2017 New Colombo Plan mobility grants.

More than $600,000 in funding will support seven new programs to Korea, Thailand, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Philippines, India and Vietnam as well as four multi-year funding programs going to India, China and Malaysia.

 Swinburne’s Vice-President (International and Future Students), Jeffrey Smart, says the university is thrilled with the outcome of 2017 New Colombo Plan mobility program.

“We welcome many students from the Indo-Pacific region each year to study at Swinburne but we also want to create opportunities for all Swinburne students to study abroad.

“The New Colombo Plan allows us to continue to build study tours, exchange programs and other opportunities that will give our students access to the Indo-Pacific region’s excellent education sector,” Mr Smart says.

The New Colombo Plan is an Australian Government initiative launched in 2014. The program is designed to enhance the knowledge of the Indo Pacific in Australia by providing Australian undergraduates the opportunity to study and undertake internships in the region.

 The Australian Government has committed over $100 million in new funding over five years to implement the New Colombo Plan, which includes both the mobility grants program as well as a prestigious scholarships program.