Whether you’re interested in becoming a pilot or aviation management, we offer courses that pave the way to a successful career. All are developed and reviewed in consultation with key players in industry and taught by teachers with significant industry experience. 

Explore our courses

Our people

Academic staff

Dr Tommy Cheung
Associate Professor, Aviation Postgraduate Course Director

+61 3 9214 8527 


Professor Zheng Lei
Department Chair

+61 3 9214 3476


Dr Peter Renshaw Lecturer, Aviation prenshaw@swinburne.edu.au  
Yun Maung Lecturer, Aviation ymaung@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Rockie Kuok Lecturer, Aviation rkuok@swinburne.edu.au EN702e

Course Advisory Committee

TBD (Chair) 
Mr Greg Fordham 
Airbiz Aviation Strategies  
Mr Peter Evans 
Senior Advisor  
Airservices Australia  
Mr Brent Hayward 
Managing Director  
Dedale Asia Pacific  
Dr Richard Batt  
Manager International  
Australian Transport Safety Bureau  
Mr Nigel Fanning  
Head of Commercial Australia and New Zealand  
Jetstar Airways  
Adrian Jakobovic 
Head of Operations Support 
Tiger Airways Australia  
Captain Adrian Young  
Head of Flying Operations and Chief Pilot 
Qantas Link Airways  
Ms Sarah Renner  
Executive General Manager-Aviation and Transport 
ISS Facility Services Australia 
Mr Darryl Gerlach 
Consultant & Advisor to Skytraders 
Captain Steve Gist  
Manager Training and Checking, B737 
Qantas Airways  
Mr Mike Drinkall 
General Manager  
CAE Oxford Aviation Academy  
Captain Phil Elliot  
Director, Flight Operations  
AHK Air Hong Kong  
Captain Tegan Gray  
Chief Pilot and Head of Flying Operations 
Express Freighters Australia  
Mr Simon Gandy  
Chief of Aviation  
Melbourne Airport  
Mr Shane Carmody 
CEO and Director of Aviation Safety  
Mr Paul Ferguson  
CEO Moorabbin Airport Corporation  
Australian Airports Association 

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Aviation.

Explore our other departments

Contact the Department of Aviation

For general enquiries, call 1300 794 628 to speak with our friendly team. You can also email us at Dean-SchoolofEngineering@swinburne.edu.au.

Contact us