We engage with contemporary design and fabrication techniques while understanding the complex social, cultural and environmental factors needed for sustainable design practice. Authentic learning is a key component where students and staff engage with industry partners on interdisciplinary projects and global design challenges. 

Explore our courses

Our projects

Our people

NAME POSITION CONTACT LOCATION
Dr Abdullah Al Mahmud Senior Lecturer, Industrial Design +61 3 9214 3830 aalmahmud@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Martin Alvarez Lecturer, Architecture malvarez@swinburne.edu.au AMDC
Katherine Bissett-Johnson Lecturer, Industrial Design and Product Design Engineering +61 3 9214 6973 kbissettjohnson@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Dr Sascha Bohnenberger-Fehr Lecturer, Architecture +61 3 9214 6104 sbohnenbergerfehr@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Maria Camacho Lecturer, Design Management and Strategy +61 3 9214 8416 mcamacho@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Canhui Chen Lecturer, Architecture +61 3 9214 3707 canhuichen@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Norman Day Academic Tutor, Interior Architecture +61 3 9214 6156 nday@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Quoc Phuong Dinh Lecturer, Interior Architecture +61 3 9214 6012 qdinh@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Associate Professor Boris Eisenbart Co-Discipline Coordinator, Product Design Engineering; Associate Professor, Product Design Engineering +61 3 9214 6509 beisenbart@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Associate Professor Daniel Huppatz Associate Professor, Interior Architecture +61 3 9214 6932 dhuppatz@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Simon Jackson Senior Lecturer, Design History and Theory +61 3 9214 6878 simonjackson@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Debra Kunda Academic Tutor dkunda@swinburne.edu.au AMDC
Dr Jo Kuys Lecturer, Industrial Design +61 3 9214 3856 jkuys@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Dr Mehrnoush Latifi Khorasgani Lecturer, Architecture +61 3 9214 4579 mlatifi@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Stephanie Liddicoat Lecturer, Architecture +61 3 9214 8812 sliddicoat@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Simon Lloyd Lecturer, Interior Architecture +61 3 9214 6923 slloyd@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Associate Professor Flavia Marcello Associate Professor, Architectural History +61 3 9214 6854 fmarcello@swinburne.edu.au AMDC912
Associate Professor Gavin Melles Associate Professor of Sustainability and Social Innovation +61 3 9214 6851 gmelles@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Dr Mozammel Mridha Lecturer, Interior Architecture +61 3 9214 6557 mmridha@swinburne.edu.au AMDC 701
Dolores O’Grady Academic Tutor, Interior Architecture dogrady@swinburne.edu.au AMDC
Dr Matthew Parnell Senior Lecturer, Design Management and Strategy +61 3 9214 8171 mparnell@swinburne.edu.au AMDC907
Daniel Prohasky Lecturer, Architectural Engineering +61 3 9214 3364 dprohasky@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Gregory Quinn Discipline Coordinator, Architectural Engineering; Lecturer, Architectural Engineering +61 3 9214 6736 gcquinn@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Dr Charles Ranscombe Co-Discipline Coordinator, Product Design Engineering; Senior Lecturer, Industrial Design and Product Design Engineering +61 3 9214 6059 cranscombe@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Associate Professor Gianni Renda Deputy Chair, Department of Architectural and Industrial Design; Associate Professor, Industrial Design +61 3 9214 6026 grenda@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Dr Gergana Rusenova Lecturer, Architecture +61 3 9214 5628 grusenova@swinburne.edu.au AMDC711
Associate Professor John Sadar Course Director, Architecture; Associate Professor, Architecture +61 3 9214 4519 jsadar@swinburne.edu.au AMDC701
Associate Professor Kurt Seemann Associate Professor, Design +61 3 9214 4382 kseemann@swinburne.edu.au AMDC
Denis Smitka Course Director, Industrial Design; Lecturer, Industrial Design +61 3 9214 6453 dsmitka@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Mark Strachan Lecturer, Industrial Design and Product Design Engineering +61 3 9214 6919 mstrachan@swinburne.edu.au AMDC904
Professor Marcus White Professor, Urban Design +61 3 9214 5 5435 marcuswhite@swinburne.edu.au AMDC707
Dr Ian Woodcock Course Director, Master of Architecture and Urban Design; Senior Lecturer, Urban Design +61 3 9214 3904 iwoodcock@swinburne.edu.au AMDC706

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Architectural and Industrial Design.

Explore our other department, centre and group

Contact the Department of Architectural and Industrial Design 

For general enquiries, please call +61 3 9214 5174 or send an email to designadmin@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us