The Victorian Hydrogen Hub team brings together expertise from across Swinburne University of Technology. Design Factory Melbourne engages an interdisciplinary team to lend their knowledge, skills and insights to diverse hydrogen challenges. The Factory of the Future responds to evolving hydrogen needs in the industry, getting business ready for a hydrogen economy.

Leadership team


Beatrice Haselroither
VH2 Administrator

Kate Hutcheson
Communications and Outreach Advisor

Skills Roadmap

Kerrin Pryor
Project Manager

Engagement – Design Factory Melbourne

Professor Anita Kocsis

Stefan Lodewyckx
Hydrogen Futures Researcher

Research Fellows

Dr Steven Percy
Senior Research Fellow
Hydrogen Modelling

Dr Kim Beasy
Adjunct Research Fellow
Social impacts of Hydrogen Technology

Madeline Van Dongen
VH2/AIR Hub Hydrogen Storage Technologies

Dr Mahtab Jahantab
Hydrogen and renewable supply chain

Readiness – Factory of the Future

Professor Prem Prakash Jayaraman
Director, Factory of the Future

Impact Masters scholarships

Jan Wadowski
Improvements to the productivity of the hydrogen direct reduction of iron through the application of CFD

Tharindu Siyambalapitiya
Decarbonisation options for reheat furnaces

Impact PhD scholarships

Aaron Bourke
Scaling catalyst production for electrochemical CO2 reduction and diversified electrolyser applications via thermal spray coatings

Ankit Jadhav
Hydrogen generator efficiency for performance enhancements for reducing ecological impacts

Bima Satritama
Silicon production using hydrogen

David Holder
The role of hydrogen in decarbonising (sea) ports

Dorsa Alipour
Energy model focusing on planning green urban freight transport networks using hydrogen as an alternative fuel

Gopal Pandey
Use of hydrogen in steelmaking

Manashaa Madhavan
Hybrid hydrogen battery energy systems for community microgrids

Md. Nasir Uddin
Techno-economic and life cycle assessment for renewable green fuels

Salim Hijazeen
The integration of vertiports into an existing commercial airport. Assessment framework and impact analysis

Siripond Mullanu
Advanced data analytics framework for hydrogen-based integrated energy system to support green transportation

Qurat Ul Ain Yasin
Techno-economic analysis of liquid organic hydrogen carriers

Zizhao Peng
Additive manufacturing of lightweight structures for hydrogen powered vehicles

Swinburne ecosystem

Professor Virginia Kilborn
Chief Scientist

Professor Alex Stojcevski
Dean of School of Science, Computing and Engineering Technologies

Professor Pat Rajeev
Chair, Department of Civil and Construction

Dr Adriano Di Pietro
Director, AIR Hub

Professor Zheng Lei
Chair, Department of Aviation

Professor Akbar Rhamdhani
Director of Fluid and Process Dynamics (FPD) Group

Professor Dong Ruan
Chair, Department of Mechanical and Product Design Engineering

Dr Joshua Allwright
Research Associate

Dr Carolyn Beasley
Senior Lecturer, Media and Communication

Professor Geoffrey Brooks
Professor, Engineering

Dr Tommy Cheung
Senior Lecturer, Aviation

Professor Kay Cook
Professor,  Department of Humanities and Social Sciences

Associate Professor Hadi Ghaderi
Major Discipline Coordinator, Logistics and Supply Chain Management

Dr Rosalie Hocking
Senior Lecturer, Department of Chemistry anf Biotechnology

Associate Professor Ambarish Kulkarni
Senior Lecturer, Computer Aided Engineering

Dr Julian Oldmeadow
Senior Lecturer, Psychology

Associate Professor Mahnaz Shafiei
Lead, Sensing Technology Research

Professor Feng Wang
Professor, Chemistry

Dr James Williams
Course Director, Graduate Diploma of Psychology (Advanced)

Associate Professor Sam Wilson
Associate Professor, Management

Associate Professor Ali Yavari
Director of the 6G Research and Innovation Laboratory

Dr Sarah McLean
Lecturer, Public and Environmental Health

Professor Hussein Dia
Professor of Urban Mobility

Associate Professor Jamal Naser
School of Engineering

Professor Mehdi Seyedmahmoudian
Director, Siemens Swinburne Energy Transition Hub

Distinguished Professor Saad Mekhilef
School of Science, Computing and Engineering Technologies

Associate Professor Yvonne Durandet
School of Engineering 

Looking for more information?

Whatever your query is, get in touch with us on

Contact us