In Summary

  • 2018 law graduate Holly White has been awarded the Supreme Court Prize
  • The Supreme Court Prize recognises the top graduating students from each of the state’s law schools
  • Ms White finished top of her class and is Swinburne’s first winner of the Prize

Swinburne law graduate Holly White has been awarded the prestigious Supreme Court Prize.

The Supreme Court Prize is awarded to the students graduating from Victorian law schools with the highest scores, and is recognised as a hallmark of outstanding excellence and intellectual ability.

Ms White was presented with the prize by the Chief Justice of Victoria, the Honourable Anne Ferguson, at a ceremony in the Supreme Court Library earlier this month.

“I feel incredibly honoured to be the recipient of such a prestigious prize,” says Ms White.

“For me, receiving the Prize is recognition of all my hard work and perseverance through some tough times.”

Ms White wanted to thank the Chief Justice and Justices of the Supreme Court for awarding her the prize, as well as her friends and family, Swinburne Law School, Swinburne’s student support staff and her previous employers for all their help throughout her studies.

“Without all the support I received from so many people there is no way I would have been able to achieve what I have,” she says.

This is the first time a Swinburne student has been eligible for the prize, with the university’s inaugural intake of law students graduating in 2018.

“Being the first ever Swinburne recipient is very exciting,” says Ms White.

“It marks the beginning of the future of Swinburne Law School graduates entering the workforce and making an impact in the legal industry.”

Since completing a Bachelor of Laws, Ms White has secured a graduate position at national commercial law firm Mills Oakley.

Many past winners of the Supreme Court Prize have gone on to lead distinguished careers.

This includes Australia’s longest-serving Prime Minister, Sir Robert Menzies; former Governor-General and Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia, Sir Isaac Isaacs; and current Chief Justice of Victoria, the Honourable Anne Ferguson.