In Summary

‌Swinburne University of Technology has secured over $1.3 million from the TAFE Back to Work Fund, an initiative of the Victorian Government.  

Working in partnership with the Sarina Russo Group, the funding will be used to implement two new courses at Swinburne, which will address current skills shortages in Victoria.

The courses will be offered to unemployed and retrenched workers aged 17-30 as well as newly arrived migrants.

With a focus on sustainability and the environment, Swinburne will provide qualifications in bricklaying and plumbing, as well as new energy technology.

Swinburne Vice-Chancellor, Professor Linda Kristjanson, said employability would be a strong focus of the program.

“In the changing world, skills in new and renewable energy are more necessary than ever before,” Professor Kristjanson said.

“Swinburne has a strong focus on sustainability and we believe in educating the next generation of trades people on the importance of constructing energy efficient buildings and environments.”

Using an integrated curriculum approach, the courses will combine units in renewable energy and construction technology.

The Sarina Russo Group will partner with Swinburne to provide services in job matching, post-job placement support and mentoring.

During the funding announcement at Swinburne's Hawthorn campus today, Minister for Training and Skills, Steve Herbert, said that the money would increase employability in the south-east of Melbourne.

“TAFEs mean skills and skills mean jobs, which is why it is essential to the future of the region that Swinburne University delivers more training that gives locals the opportunity to develop the skills they need to get the job they want,” Mr Herbert said.

Swinburne offers a range of pre-apprenticeships, apprenticeships and trades short courses at its Croydon, Wantirna and Hawthorn campuses.

Launched earlier this year, the TAFE Back to Work fund is a $50 million initiative of the Victorian Government that aims to help institutions build partnerships with companies in the six growth sectors of the economy identified by the Government.