In Summary

  • The Victorian government announces a Future Industries Fund
  • Vice-Chancellor, Professor Linda Kristjanson, is appointed to the Future Industries Ministerial Advisory Council

Swinburne University of Technology has welcomed the Victorian government’s announcement of a Future Industries Fund and the appointment of Vice-Chancellor, Professor Linda Kristjanson, to the Future Industries Ministerial Advisory Council.

The Fund will invest in six key sectors set to drive the state’s future economic growth:

  • Medical technology and pharmaceuticals
  • New energy technology
  • Food and fibre
  • Transport, defence and construction technology
  • International education
  • Professional services

“We welcome the announcement of the Future Industries Fund, which will work with industry experts and employees to ensure not only the future growth of traditional industries, but also investment in emerging sectors,” Swinburne’s Vice-President Engagement, Andrew C Smith said.

The Future Industries Ministerial Advisory Council, led by former Premier of Tasmania, David Bartlett, also includes Dr Leonie Walsh, Lead Scientist Victoria, Gabrielle Coyne, CEO Penguin Random House, and Nixon Apple, Alternate Director, Australian Super. The Council will advise the government and help identify opportunities for cooperation and co-investment.

“The appointment of Professor Kristjanson to the Future Industries Ministerial Advisory Council positions Swinburne as a partner of choice for the key sectors identified by the government for future investment,” Mr Smith said.

Professor Kristjanson had previously served two years on the Victorian Manufacturing Council.