In Summary

Swinburne University of Technology Film and Television students and alumni have taken out multiple awards in three separate categories at the 2014 Californian Film Awards.

Recent graduate Klayton Stainer took out the top prize in his category, being crowned the Grand Winner for Best Foreign Short Award, for his film I Remember The Future

In the student film competition, Swinburne student Shaun McCarthy earned a Diamond Award for his film The Boy Who Had No Thumbs.  Swinburne student films were also awarded three Gold Awards and one Silver Award in the Student Film category and one Silver Award in the Short Film category.

Held annually, the Californian Film Awards recognizes and the forefront of aesthetic, critical and entertainment standards in contemporary independent filmmaking and screenwriting, honouring new and cutting-edge American and foreign independent films in several competition categories.  

Swinburne is a member of the International Association of Film and Television Schools (CILECT), the international peak body for film schools. The association brings together more than 150 of the world’s best film schools and our membership reflects the high quality and reputation of our film and television courses.

View the award winning Swinburne Student Films