In Summary

Swinburne University of Technology students have won gold, silver and bronze awards in the Student Cinematography category at the recent Australian Cinematography Society Awards (Victoria and Tasmania), with two Swinburne alumni also winning awards.

Swinburne students took out all three awards in the student category with Josh Farmelo winning the Gold Award for his film Twenty Forty Three, Matt Wilson gaining the Silver Award for Dysfunctional and Thom Neal who won the Bronze Award for his film Honalee.

Swinburne alumni Ed Goldner won the Gold Award for his Music Video for Guy Pearce titled Storm, and Romilly Spiers won Silver for the Wildlife category for her film To The Beat of a Drum.

“The ASC awards are among the toughest judges in cinematography,” Jeffrey Bird, Lecturer at Swinburne Film and Television, said.

“They’re practicing cinematographers with decades of experience and expect high standards to be met.

“For Swinburne students to take out all the awards in the category is a real endorsement of the work that we are doing across both film and digital formats."

This news comes after Swinburne Film and Television was admitted as a full member to the international peak body for film schools – International Association of Film and Television Schools (Centre International de Liaison des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision – CILECT) – at the Association’s recent congress in California.

The department continues to receive accolades and endorsements, most recently from Hunter Todd Chairman and Founding Director of the Worldfest Houston International Film Festival in Texas, USA.

“Swinburne is now the finest film/video production school in the world,” Mr Todd said.

“Swinburne has exceeded the wins of USC, UCLA, Loyola Marymount, and Regent University.

"These are all major previous winners over the past 47 years, and to date, you are the top winner for the same time-frame. My sincere congratulations.”

See all Australian Cinematography Society Awards winners here