In Summary

Swinburne University of Technology today announced that the Expression of Interest process for its former Lilydale campus has concluded.

The University had sought expressions of interest in the sale or lease of the former Lilydale campus through an open, transparent, market-based process.

Expressions of interest were sought on the basis of the current zoning of the Lilydale site, Public Use – Education.

Following an extensive campaign seeking interest from within Australia and internationally, expressions of interest in the site opened on 26 February 2014 and closed on 10 April 2014. The University then subjected all submissions to a thorough process of evaluation.

As well as a consideration that any sale be compliant with the process approved by the Victorian Government Land Monitor and consistent with a valuation for the site provided by the Valuer-General of Victoria, submissions were evaluated against criteria including that the proposed use and development of the site:

  • demonstrated commitment of continued education provision; and
  • retained education zoning of that part of the site from which education was to be provided.

Following an evaluation of the submissions against these criteria, it was concluded that none of the submissions was capable of acceptance as they did not meet the overall evaluation criteria.

The Government Land Monitor and the Valuer-General have now approved the closure of the Expressions of Interest process undertaken by the University.

Throughout this process, Swinburne has been guided by the principle that we wish to see the former campus returned as soon as possible to productive use.

The University remains committed to creating a positive future for the former campus. Swinburne will now give further consideration to its next steps and will continue to work with the Victorian Government on the future use of the site.

Swinburne’s former Lilydale campus closed on 1 July 2013 and former Lilydale staff and students relocated to Swinburne’s other Melbourne-based campuses at Hawthorn, Croydon and Wantirna.