Swinburne Institute
for Social Research

Centre staff

Directors

PersonRoleLocationEmailTelephone
Professor Julian Thomas Director EW123 jthomas@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5466
A/Professor Ellie Rennie Deputy Director EW120 erennie@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5303

Professional staff

PersonRoleLocationEmailTelephone
Grace Lee Administration Co-ordinator EW121 glee@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5286
Michael Niemann Data Analysis Tools Developer EW203 mniemann@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5471

Digital society flagship

Flagship leaders

PersonLocationEmailTelephone
Professor Julian Thomas EW123 jthomas@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5466
A/Professor Rowan Wilken EW206 rwilken@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8348

Research centre staff

PersonLocationEmailTelephone
Penelope Aitken 400B 107 paitken@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8697
Peter Browne EW119 pbrowne@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8886
Dr Scott Ewing EW117 sewing@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5564
Professor Jock Given  EW107 jgiven@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4887
Christine Horn EW203-4 chorn@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4445
Shae Hunter EW202 shaehunter@swin.edu.au -
Camilo Jorquera 400B/107 cjorquera@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8697
Thia Koikas 400B 106 tkoikas@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5609
Amanda Lawrence 400B 107a alawrence@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8792
Dr Ramon Lobato EW121 rlobato@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8637
Yee Man Louie EW203 ylouie@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5238
Dr Aneta Podkalicka EW113 apodkalicka@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4401
Dr Prabha Prayaga 400B 110 pprayaga@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5940
A/Professor Ellie Rennie EW120 erennie@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5303
Dr Kathrin Schmieder EW103 kschmieder@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5566

Affiliated researchers

PersonLocationEmailTelephone
A/Professor Jason Bainbridge AS328 jbainbridge@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4645
Professor Trevor Barr AS413 tbarr@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8106
Dr Saba Bebawi AS423 - -
Diana Bossio AS430a dbossio@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8107
Dr Andrew Dodd BA1001 adodd@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4374
A/Professor Karen Farquharson AMDC901c kfarquharson@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5889
Dr Esther Milne AS425  emilne@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8195
Dr Anthony McCosker AS412 amccosker@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4984
Timothy Moore AD226 tjmoore@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5996
Dr Katya (Ekaterina) Pechenkina BA905 epechenkina@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4624
Amanda Scardamaglia BA1015 ascardamaglia@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5870
Professor Leon Sterling AMDC909 lsterling@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8491
Vivienne Waller 463B/203 vwaller@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5752
Derek Whitehead EW103 dwhitehead@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8333

Adjunct researchers

PersonEmail
Raymond Cassin rcassin@swin.edu.au
Dr Angela Daly acdaly@swin.edu.au
Dr Ian McShane Ian.McShane@rmit.edu.au
Alexandra McCrea -
Dr Robert Morsillo rmorsillo@swin.edu.au
Dr Elaine Rabbitt erabbitt@swin.edu.au
Dr Jason Wilson jasonwilson@swin.edu.au

Global justice flagship

Flagship leader

PersonLocationEmailTelephone
Professor Sandra Gifford EW205 sgifford@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5561

Research centre staff

PersonLocationEmailTelephone
Professor Linda Briskman EW209 lbriskman@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5611
Professor Brian Costar EW115 bcostar@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5899
Professor Klaus Neumann EW108 kneumann@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 4526
Phillip Strobl EW202-1 pstrobl@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5239

Affiliated researchers

PersonLocationEmailTelephone
Christine Agius AS216 cagius@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8584
Dr Glenda Ballantyne 400B 205 gballantyne@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5300
Professor John Fitzgerald BA923 johnfitzgerald@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8031
Dr Karen Hughes 400B108 karenhughes@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 7131
Dr Julie Kimber 400B214 jkimber@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8103
A/Professor Michael Leach 400B216 mleach@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5357
Dr Lucy Nicholas 400B213 lnicholas@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 5982
Andrew Peters 400B108 apeters@swin.edu.au +61 3 9215 5107
Dr Kerry Ryan 400B205 kdryan@swin.edu.au +61 3 9215 8038
Lorenzo Veracini EW114 lveracini@swin.edu.au +61 3 9214 8505

Adjunct researchers

PersonEmail
Thomas Bamforth tbamforth@swin.edu.au
Dr Peter Brent pbrent@swin.edu.au
Professor Brian Costar bcostar@swin.edu.au
Dr Yaghoob Foroutan yforoutan@swin.edu.au
Dr Liza Hopkins lhopkins@swin.edu.au
Professor June Kane junekane@bigpond.net.au
Dr Annika Lems annika.lems@anthro.unibe.ch
Mr Nic Maclellan nicmaclellan@optusnet.com.au
Professor Brian McFarlane bmcfarlane@swin.edu.au
Dr Anne McNevin anne.mcnevin@monash.edu
Peter Mares pwmares@swin.edu.au
Professor Donna Dening Merwick donnadening@bigpond.com
Dr Jennifer Newton-Farrelly jenni.newton@parliament.sa.gov.au
Dr Glenn Nicholls glenn.nicholls@deakin.edu.au
Zoe Robertson zrobertson@swin.edu.au
Professor Paul Rodan prodan@swin.edu.au
Dr Robyn Sampson rsampson@idcoalition.org
Dr Jill Stockwell jillystockwell@yahoo.com