In Summary

Swinburne University of Technology’s world-leading authority on three-dimensional optical imaging technology, Professor Min Gu, has been awarded the prestigious Ian Wark Medal by the Australian Academy of Science. 

The medal is awarded each year for outstanding research and the advancement of scientific knowledge which contributes to the prosperity of Australia. 

Professor Min Gu FAA, FTSE, Director of the Centre for Micro-Photonics at Swinburne, Australian Laureate Fellow and University Distinguished Professor said he felt privileged to join the list of the prestigious scientists who have been awarded this nationally and internationally recognised medal. 

“I am extremely honoured with the award of the Ian Wark Medal to recognise the global impact of our outstanding research in green photonics on the prosperity of Australia in the area of big data centres, solar cells and early cancer detection. 

“Green photonics as a strategic research focus commenced at Swinburne at the beginning of 2000 and many scientists and research students have contributed their expertise to this globally important area. The award of this Medal is clearly the highest recognition of Swinburne’s leading status in this area internationally,” said Professor Gu. 

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Development at Swinburne, Professor George Collins, said Professor Gu was a pioneer in optical data storage, solar cell technology and 3D imaging of living cells. 

“Professor Gu has driven a paradigm-shift in data storage by developing petabyte data storage technology that allows sustainable growth in digital economies. 

“The creative innovation of his team in 3D optical endoscopy has firmly established a foundation for early cancer detection, while the innovations that he has led in nanoplasmonic solar cells have resulted in ultrathin high efficiency photovoltaic devices with less environmental impact, supporting the continued growth of Australia’s renewable energy industry.” 

In 2011 Professor Gu received the WH (Beattie) Steel Medal from the Australian Optics Society and in 2010 received an Australian Laureate Fellowship from the federal government for further research into the development of new generation optical recording technologies. 

The Ian Wark medal honours the contributions to Australian science and industry by the late Sir Ian Wark CMG, CBE, FAA, FTSE, a founder of CSIRO. 


Min Gu Ian Wark medal presentation

Professor Min Gu with his family and Swinburne Vice-Chancellor Professor Linda Kristjanson at the Ian Wark medal and lecture presentation dinner on Wednesday 10 September 2014.

Image credit: Australian Academy of Science

For more information on the winners, awards and research support awards visit: