Skip to Content

2014 Seminar Programme

Date Speaker Title Abstract
Tuesday 14 January

Prof. Qihuang Gong
Department of Physics & State Key Laboratory for Mesoscopic Physics, Peking University, China

Manipulating Light Using Micro/Nanostructured Materials

Monday 3 February Prof. David Villeneuve
Joint Attosecond Science Laboratory, National Research Council and University of Ottawa, Canada
Do Quantum Mechanical Wave Functions Exist and Can They Be Measured?

Friday 7 February Prof. Peter Drummond
Centre for Quantum and Optical Science, Swinburne University of Technology
Quantum Simulations of the Early Universe

Friday 21 February Dr Elena Sinchenko
Centre for Quantum and Optical Science, Swinburne University of Technology
Optical Fibre Distributed Chemical Sensor

Friday 4 April Dr Paul Dyke
Centre for Quantum and Optical Science, Swinburne University of Technology
Interactions of Bright Matter-Wave Solitons and a Repulsive Barrier Potential

Friday 11 April A/Prof. Peng Xi
Depatment of Biomedical Engineering, Peking University, China
RESOLFT Optical Nanoscopy with Organic and Inorganic Dyes

Thursday 17 April A/Prof. Shi-Wei Chu
National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
Superresolution Microscopy Based on Scattering

Friday 2 May Prof. Michael Fuhrer
School of Physics, Monash University, Melbourne
Graphene: a Novel Material for Electronics and Optoelectronics

Wednesday 14 May Prof. Klaus Bartschat
Department of Physics & Astronomy, Drake University, Des Moines, USA
Benchmark Calculations of Atomic Collision Processes

Friday 16 May Dr Tim Davis
CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering, Clayton, VIC
How to Control Light at the Nano-Scale with Localised Surface Plasmon Resonances

Friday 13 June Prof. Michael James
Australian Synchrotron, Clayton
The Australian Synchrotron. A Landmark National Research Facility Shining Light Across a Diverse Scientific Landscape.

Wednesday 30 July Dr Jia Wang
Department of Physics, University of Connecticut, USA
Ultra-long-range Rydberg Molecules in Ultra-cold Gases

Wednesday 27 August Prof. Geoff Pryde
Centre for Quantum Dynamics, Griffith University, Australia

Photonic Entanglement Sharing


Wednesday 10 September Prof. Benjamin J. Eggleton
ARC Centre for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS), School of Physics, University of Sydney

Frontiers in Chip-based Nonlinear Photonics


Tuesday 16 September Dr Andreas Herrmann
Humboldt University of Berlin, Department of Biology, Berlin, Germany

Influenza Virus Binds to Its Host Cell Through Multiple Dynamic Interactions


Friday 19 September Dr Kavan Modi
School of Physics, Monash University, Clayton
Measuring Heat in a Quantum Process

Friday 31 October Dr Brendan Mulkerin
Centre for Quantum and Optical Science, Swinburne University of Technology
Strongly Interacting Ultracold Fermi Gases

Tuesday 25 November Dr Ahsan Nazir
Photon Science Institute and School of Physics & Astronomy, University of Manchester
Exploring dissipative excitonic dynamics:
consistent treatments from weak to strong environmental coupling

Friday 5 December Dr Steven Knoop
Vrije Universiteit, Faculty of Science, Amsterdam
Ultracold Mixture of Metastable Helium and Rubidium for Universal Few-body Physics