Skip to Content

2006 Seminar Programme

Date Speaker Title Abstract
Thursday 2 February Prof. William Phillips
National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, USA
A Bose Condensate in an Optical Lattice: cold atomic gases meet solid state physics

Wednesday 15 February Assoc. Prof. Alessandro Martucci
The University of Padua, Italy
Sol-gel nanocomposite films as gas sensing and active optical materials

Tuesday 21 February Prof. Byoungho Lee
School of EE, Seoul National University, Korea
Analysis, Synthesis and Applications of Diffractive Optics

Thursday 23 February Assoc. Prof. Timothy Roach
College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Manipulation of cold atom clouds: gravitational effects & magnetic media

Friday 17 March Dr. Chris Vale
Department of Physics, University of Queensland
Interfering Atom Lasers

Monday 20 March Dr Steve Morgan
School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, University of Nottingham
Optical Imaging and Characterisation of Tissue

Friday 31 March Dr. Andrew Greentree
School of Physics, The University of Melbourne
Adiabatic Passage through Space: Robust coherent transport in solid-state systems

Thursday 6 April Dr. Martin J. Booth
Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford, UK
Adaptive optics for microscopy, optical data storage and micromachining

Friday 12 May Prof. Greg Hartland
University of Notre Dam, Indiana, USA
How do the Size, Shape and Crystal Structure of Materials affect their Mechanical Properties

Friday 26 May Dr Michael Volk
Institute of Quantum Optics, University of Hannover, Germany and CAOUS, Swinburne University of Technology
Neutral Atoms for Quantum Information Processing

Friday 30 June Shannon Whitlock
CAOUS, Swinburne University of Technology
Bose-Einstein Condensates on a Magnetic Film Atom Chip

Friday 7 July Mark Tobin
Infrared Beamline Scientist, Australian Synchrotron Project
Infrared Microspectroscopy at the Australian Synchrotron

Wednesday 2 August Dr Peter Krug
Algonquin College in Ottawa, Canada
A Self Adjusting Gain Equaliser for WDM Communications

Friday 1 September Craig Bullen
CMP, Swinburne University of Technology
The Real Chemistry of Artificial Atoms: recent progress in the chemistry of semiconductor nanocrystals

Friday 15 September Dr David Kielpinski
Griffith University, Brisbane
Quantum Computing with Trapped Ions

Friday 15 September Dr. Kyongsik Choi
CMP, Swinburne University of Technology
Diffractive Optics for 3D Display and Surface Plasmon Resonance Excitation

Wednesday 20 September Dr Joel Corney
ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum-Atom Optics, The University of Queensland
Simulating Ultracold Bosons and Fermions with Quantum Phase-Space Methods

Friday 29 September Dr. Adel Rahmani
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems, Macquarie University
Near-field Optics of Photonic Crystal Microcavities

Friday 13 October Dr Maximillian Schlosshauer
The University of Queensland, Brisbane
Schrödinger-Cat States and Decoherence in Quantum-Electromechanical Systems

Thursday 26 October Professor Hans A Bachor
ARC Centre of Excellence for Quantum-Atom Optics, Australian National University, Canberra
Spatial Quantum Optics - Towards Super Resolution and Einstein Podolsky Rosen Entanglement

Wednesday 13 December Professor John Hall
JILA, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA
The Optical Frequency Comb – Tool of Many Uses