Centre for Transformative Innovation

Our people

 Centre Leadership

NamePositionResearch areaEmail
Beth Webster Centre Director Economics of innovation emwebster@swin.edu.au
Alfons Palangkaraya Deputy Director Economics of innovation; 
Asian engagement
apalangkaraya@swin.edu.au
Dean Lusher Associate Director Networked innovation dlusher@swin.edu.au
Karissa Charlton Research Centre Manager   klcharlton@swin.edu.au



 Investigators

NamePositionResearch areaEmail
James Coutinho Research Fellow Networked innovation jcoutinho@swin.edu.au
Colin Gallagher Research Fellow Networked innovation cgallagher@swin.edu.au
Michael Gilding Faculty Pro Vice-Chancellor Networked innovation mgilding@swin.edu.au
Maedeh Aboutalebi 
Karkavandi
Research Fellow Networked innovation maboutalebikarkavand
@swin.edu.au
Stephen Petrie Data Scientist Economics of innovation spetrie@swin.edu.au
Thomas Spurling Professorial Fellow Economics of innovation tspurling@swin.edu.au
Russell Thomson Professorial Fellow Economics of innovation russellthomson@swin.edu.au
Peng Wang Senior Research Fellow Networked innovation pengwang@swin.edu.au
John Webb Professorial Fellow Asian engagement jmwebb@swin.edu.au
Brian Wright Professorial Fellow Economics of innovation bwright@swin.edu.au
Helen Wolff Research Support Officer Economics of innovation helenwolff@swin.edu.au
Sahar Araghi Data Scientist Economics of innovation saraghi@swin.edu.au
Yong-Bin Kang Research Fellow Economics of innovation ykang@swin.edu.au
Trevor Kollmann Research Fellow Economics of innovation tkollmann@swin.edu.au
Sarah Hegarty Data Scientist Economics of innovation shegarty@swin.edu.au
Jiting Hu Research Assistant Economics of innovation jitinghu@swin.edu.au



 Adjuct Fellows

NamePositionResearch areaEmail
Ian Elsum Swinburne Adjunct Networked innovation ielsum@swin.edu.au
Christine Greenhalgh Swinburne Adjunct Intellectual property;
Asian engagement
christine.greenhalgh
@economics.ox.ac.uk
Terry Healy Swinburne Adjunct CSIRO History Project thealy@swin.edu.au
Paul Jensen Swinburne Adjunct Economics of innovation pjensen@unimelb.edu.au
Elisabeth Mueller Swinburne Adjunct Economics of innovation elisabeth.mueller@ggs.de
Garry Robbins Swinburne Adjunct Networked innovation garrylr@unimelb.edu.au
Julien Brailly Swinburne Adjunct Networked Innovation jbrailly@swin.edu.au
Robert Kerton Swinburne Adjunct Scientific media expert rkerton@swin.edu.au
Till Klein Swinburne Adjunct Networked Innovation tklein@swin.edu.au
Howard Upstill Swinburne Adjunct CSIRO History Project hupstill@swin.edu.au
Phil Casey Swinburne Adjunct CSIRO History Project pcasey@swin.edu.au
Bradley Man Swinburne Adjunct Economics of innovation byman@swin.edu.au
Janine Pickering Swinburne Adjunct Gender Dynamics in Management jpickering@swin.edu.au
Francesco Lissoni Swinburne Adjunct Economics of innovation flissoni@swin.edu.au
Bill Griffiths Swinburne Adjunct Econometrics b.griffiths@unimelb.edu.au



 PhD Candidates

NamePositionResearch areaEmail
Jean-Francois Desvignes PhD candidate Economics of innovation jfdesvignes@swin.edu.au
Adam Finch PhD candidate Economics of innovation afinch@swin.edu.au
Sarah King PhD candidate Networked innovation Sarah.King@csiro.au
Peter Leihn PhD candidate Economics of innovation pleihn@swin.edu.au
Bopha Roden PhD candidate Networked innovation broden@swin.edu.au
Andrew Terhost PhD candidate Networks and organisations aterhorst@swin.edu.au
Maryam Ahmad PhD candidate Economics of innovation mahmad@swin.edu.au
Sue Smith PhD candidate Economics of innovation sismith@swin.edu.au
Mark Bazzacco PhD candidate Economics of innovation mbazzacco@swin.edu.au
David Paynter PhD candidate Economics of innovation dpaynter@swin.edu.au
Le Nguyen PhD candidate Economics of innovation ndnguyen@swin.edu.au
Mitchell Adams PhD candidate Intellectual property law mwadams@swin.edu.au
Deborah Batterham PhD candidate Urban Transitions dbatterham@swin.edu.au
Nga Vo PhD candidate Economics of innovation thivo@swin.edu.au
Aneeq Sarwar PhD candidate Economics of innovation asarwar@swin.edu.au
Babu Ram Pantha PhD candidate Economics of innovation bpantha@swin.edu.au
Achinthya Koswatta PhD candidate Economics of innovation akoswatta@swin.edu.au
Fatima Lekhe PhD candidate Economics of innovation flekhe@swin.edu.au
Federico Bignone PhD candidate Economics of innovation fbignone@swin.edu.au 



 Affiliates

NamePositionResearch areaEmail
Mitchell Adams Lecturer Law Intellectual property madams@swin.edu.au
Timothy Bednall Senior Lecturer, Management Networked innovation tbednall@swin.edu.au
Sven Gallash Lecturer, Law Law sgallasch@swin.edu.au
Jake Goldenfein Lecturer, Law Law jgoldenfein@swin.edu.au
Reza Hajargasht Senior Lecturer, Economics Economics  rhajargasht@swin.edu.au
Dan Hunter Executive Dean Faculty of Law, Queensland University of Technology Intellectual property law dhunter@swin.edu.au
Christine Jubb Professor of Accounting Enterprise governance cjubb@swin.edu.au
Kelli Larson Lecturer, Law  Law klarson@swin.edu.au
Libo Liu Lecturer Information Systems Information systems  liboliu@swin.edu.au
Amir Moradi Motlagh Lecturer, Accounting Economics of innovation amoradi@swin.edu.au
Jeremy Nguyen Lecturer, Economics Economics jdnguyen@swin.edu.au
Grainne Oates Senior Lecturer, Accounting and Finance Enterprise governance goates@swin.edu.au
Amanda Scardamaglia Department Chair, Law Intellectual property ascardamaglia@swin.edu.au
Suku Sukunesan Senior Lecturer Department of Business, Technology and Entrepreneurship ssinnappan@swin.edu.au
Abbas Valadkhani Professor, Economics Economics of innovation abbas@swin.edu.au
Marina Zhang Associate Professor Entrepreneurship and innovation myzhang@swin.edu.au
Mardy Chiah Lecturer, Finance Economics of Innovation and Finance cchiah@swin.edu.au
Adam Karg Senior Research Fellow Networked Innovation akarg@swin.edu.au
Timothy Marjoribanks Associate Dean, (Research and Engagement) Organisations and Leadership tmarjoribanks@swin.edu.au
Mile Terziovski Chair, Department of Business Technology and Entrepreneurship Entrepreneurship & Innovation mterziovski@swin.edu.au
Roberto Chavez Clavijo Lecturer, Supply Chaim Management Supply Chain Management & Sustainability & Lean Manufacturing rchavezclavijo@swin.edu.au
Timos Sellis Director, Swinburne Data Science Research Institute Database Systems, Data Science, Big Data tsellis@swinburne.edu.au
Kai Qin Associate Professor, School of Software and Electrical Engineering Machine Learning kqin@swin.edu.au
Alex Codoreanu Data Scientist Economics of innovation acodoreanu@swin.edu.au