Deadlines and Help

Make sure you submit to the correct review body (as determined in levels of ethical review).

SUHREC review

(research that is greater than low risk and/or involves vulnerable population groups and/or significantly sensitive issues).

SUHREC submission deadline dates 2020-2021 SUHREC meeting dates 2020-2021
Friday 2 October Friday 16 October
Friday 6 November Friday 20 November
Friday 27 November Friday 11 December
Monday 4 January Friday 15 January
Friday 5 February Friday 19 February
Friday 5 March Friday19 March
Wednesday 31 March Friday 16 April

SHESC review

(research that is negligible or low risk and does not involve vulnerable population groups and/or sensitive issues).

Please note that SHESC Meetings are generally scheduled within 9 working days of the deadlines. Each submission deadline corresponds to the subsequent meeting date.

SHESC deadlines and meeting dates for 2020

SHESC submission deadline dates 2020 SHESC meeting dates 2020
Monday 28 September Friday 09 October
Monday 12 October Friday 23 October
Monday 26 October Friday 06 November
Monday 02 November Friday 13 November
Monday 16 November Friday 27 November
Monday 07 December Friday 18 December

Human research ethics drop-in sessions

Are you preparing a human research ethics application? Or do you have questions regarding ethics clearances you currently have? Swinburne Research Ethics, Integrity and Biosafety is launching ethics drop-in sessions for research staff and students to:

  • discuss ethics requirements for your research
  • get help preparing ethics applications
  • discuss the committee’s feedback on ethics applications that have already been reviewed
  • get help submitting modification requests or annual reports
  • raise any other queries you have about human research ethics.

Drop-in sessions

  • Ethics drop-in sessions are postponed until further notice. Dates for drop-in sessions will be available as soon as possible.

To make an appointment email resethics@swinburne.edu.au. You are welcome to just ‘drop in’ but preference will be given to those who have made a booking. If this time/day doesn’t suit you, please contact us to arrange an alternative time.

Sessions are held in the Office of Research Ethics, Integrity and Biosafety, SPS building, level 1.

Note: there is a limit of three appointments per iteration so please book ahead.


Other review:

Please contact the Research Ethics Office.