Advances in physics are at the very heart of technological developments that will influence the way we live in the 21st century. At Swinburne, we run courses and conduct cutting cutting-edge research that’s leading the way.   

Did you know?

Swinburne ranks in the top 100 universities worldwide for physics research and above world standard for our research in astronomical and space sciences. 

Explore our courses

Our facilities

Our people

Academic staff

Name
Position
Contact
Location
Dr Rebecca Allen
Schools Engagement Coordinator 

+61 3 9214 5846 

rebeccaallen@swinburne.edu.au

AR302E 
Professor Matthew Bailes
Laureate Fellow 

+61 3 9214 8782 

mbailes@swinburne.edu.au

 
Chris Blake
Professor 

+61 3 9214 8624 

cblake@swinburne.edu.au

AR303 
Associate Professor James Chon
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 4326 

jchon@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC819 
Associate Professor Jeff Cooke
ARC Future Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5392 

jeffreycooke@swinburne.edu.au

AR315 
Professor Darren Croton
Professor 

+61 3 9214 5537 

dcroton@swinburne.edu.au

SA114 
Professor Bryan Dalton
Professor 

+61 3 9214 8187 

bdalton@swinburne.edu.au

AD203c 
Lap Dao
Professorial Fellow 

+61 3 9214 4317

dvlap@swinburne.edu.au

EN136 
Jeffrey Davis
Associate Professor, ARC Future Fellow 

+61 3 9214 4308 

jdavis@swinburne.edu.au

EN132 
Distinguished Professor Peter Drummond
Professor and Science Director, CQOS 

+61 3 9214 8043 

pdrummond@swinburne.edu.au

AD201b 
Professor Christopher Fluke
Professor 

+61 3 9214 5828 

cfluke@swinburne.edu.au

AR204 
Professor Duncan Forbes
Professor 

+61 3 9214 4392 

dforbes@swinburne.edu.au

AR203 
Xiaosong Gan
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 8675 

xgan@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC820 
Distinguished Professor Karl Glazebrook
Director, Centre for Astrophysics & Supercomputing 

+61 3 9214 4384 

kglazebrook@swinburne.edu.au

AR202b 
Dr Anthony Greaves
Lecturer (Teaching Intensive) 
agreaves@swinburne.edu.au
 
Dr Brenton Hall
Department Chair Physics and Astronomy 

+61 3 9214 4310 

brhall@swinburne.edu.au

EN137 
Distinguished Professor Peter Hannaford
Professor Emeritus 

+61 3 9214 5164 

phannaford@swinburne.edu.au

EN134 
Professor Damien Hicks
Group Leader, Complex Systems 

+61 3 9214 4712 

dghicks@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC 821 
Dr Sascha Hoinka
Postdoctoral Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 4724 

shoinka@swinburne.edu.au

EN126c 
Associate Professor Hui Hu
Associate Professor 

+61 3 9214 8156 

hhu@swinburne.edu.au

AD201d 
Professor Jarrod Hurley
Supercomputing Manager 

+61 3 9214 5787 

jhurley@swinburne.edu.au

SA115 
Dr Smitha Jose
Lecturer (Teaching Intensive) 

+61 3 9214 4325 

smithajose@swinburne.edu.au

 
Associate Professor Glenn Kacprzak
ARC Future Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5439 

gkacprzak@swinburne.edu.au

AR307 
Professor Virginia Kilborn
Dean of Science 

+61 3 9214 4380 

vkilborn@swinburne.edu.au

AS216 
Associate Professor Ivo Labbe
Senior Research Fellow 
ilabbe@swinburne.edu.au
AR201 
Professor Xiaji Liu
Professor, ARC Future Fellow 

+61 3 9214 8166 

xiajiliu@swinburne.edu.au

AD201a 
Professor Sarah Maddison

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic Innovation & Change) 

Professor of Astrophysics 

+61 3 9214 5971 

smaddison@swinburne.edu.au

SPS115 
Professor Russell McLean
Professorial Fellow, CQOS 

+61 3 9214 8555 

rmclean@swinburne.edu.au

EN135 
Jeremy Mould
Professor of Astrophysics 

+61 3 9214 4921

jmould@swinburne.edu.au

SA117 
Professor Michael Murphy
Professor, Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing 

+61 3 9214 5818

mmurphy@swinburne.edu.au

AR309 
Professor Margaret Reid
Professor 

+61 3 9214 8287 

mdreid@swinburne.edu.au

AD201c 
Wayne Rowlands
Senior Lecturer 

+61 3 9214 8142 

wrowlands@swinburne.edu.au

EN705c 
Associate Professor Emma Ryan-Weber
Astrophysicist 

+61 3 9214 4746 

eryanweber@swinburne.edu.au

AR317 
Professor Andrei Sidorov
Professorial Fellow 

+61 3 9214 4325

asidorov@swinburne.edu.au

EN143 
Associate Professor Tapio Simula
ARC Future Fellow 

+61 3 9214 5920 

tsimula@swinburne.edu.au

EN138 
Professor Christopher Vale
Professor 

+61 3 9214 8026 

cvale@swinburne.edu.au

EN139 
Dr Jiayang Wu
Senior Research Fellow 

+61 3 9214 4314

jiayangwu@swinburne.edu.au

AMDC Building, Level 8, 
Tiantian Yuan
  tiantianyuan@swinburne.edu.au
 

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Explore our other departments and centres

Contact the Department of Physics and Astronomy

For general enquiries, call 1300 794 628 to speak with our friendly team. You can also email us at fset-info@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us