The Department of Health Sciences and Biostatistics uses state-of-the-art technology for teaching and research on physical, mental and social health. Our expertise spans from epidemiology, applied statistics and health communication, through to the molecular and biochemical understanding of disease. The major themes cover biomedical science, clinical technologies, exercise and sports science, forensic psychology, health promotion, neuroscience, nutrition and statistical modelling. 

Explore our courses

  • Medical team discussing over digital tablet in corridor.

    Health

    Help communities and the individuals within them be happy and healthy

  • Exercise Science

    Learn the fundamentals of improving health, performance and nutrition. Help people be the best they can be and apply for a sports science course today.
  • Business men in a dark room standing in front of a large data display analysing graphical data.

    Applied Statistics

    Love the world of stats and figures? Our applied statistics courses will help you gain practical skills and theoretical knowledge in the key areas of statistics.

  • Shopping bag full of fresh vegetables and fruits

    Nutrition and Dietetics

    We know we should eat healthily — so what stops us making the right choices? Discover how physiology and nutrition impacts health with a nutrition course.

Our projects

Our people

NAME POSITION CONTACT
Dr Pragalathan Apputhurai Lecturer +61 3 9214 3703 papputhurai@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Harry Banyard Lecturer, Exercise and Sport Science +61 3 9214 8424 hbanyard@swinburne.edu.au
Associate Professor Amanda Benson Deputy Chair, Department of Health Sciences and Biostastics; Course Coordinator, Exercise and Sport Science +61 3 9214 4951 abenson@swinburne.edu.au
Associate Professor Jahar Bhowmik Associate Professor +61 3 9214 8367 jbhowmik@swinburne.edu.au
Ray Breed Lecturer, Exercise and Sport Science +61 3 9214 4652 rbreed@swinburne.edu.au
Julia Brodski Lecturer, Human Anatomy +61 3 9214 8000 jbrodski@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Donny Camera Lecturer, Physiology +61 3 9214 5233 dcamera@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Won Sun Chen Senior Lecturer, Statistics +61 3 9214 8437 wchen@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Matthew Cooke Senior Lecturer, Nutrition +61 3 9214 5560 mbcooke@swinburne.edu.au
Laura Delaney Academic Tutor +61 3 9214 8000 ldelaney@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Michael Fahey Senior Lecturer +61 3 9214 8113 mfahey@swinburne.edu.au
Irina Filonenko Academic Tutor +61 3 9214 8000 ifilonenko@swinburne.edu.au
Associate Professor Jason Howitt Research Director +61 3 9214 8645 jhowitt@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Amirul Islam Senior Lecturer, Statistics +61 3 9214 4494 fislam@swinburne.edu.au
Evie Kendal Lecturer, Health Promotion +61 3 9214 8000 ekendal@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Jonathan Kingsley Lecturer, Health Promotion +61 3 9214 4975 jkingsley@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Faith Kwa Senior Lecturer; Course Director, Bachelor of Health Sciences +61 3 9214 8000 fkwa@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Alireza Lajevardipour Postdoctoral Research Associate +61 3 9214 5103 alajevardipour@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Charmaine Lloyd Lecturer, Biomedical Science +61 3 9214 3841 calloyd@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Nicolene Lottering Senior Lecturer, Digital Anatomy +61 3 9214 3801 nlottering@swinburne.edu.au
Professor Denny Meyer Professor +61 3 9214 4824 dmeyer@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Dominic Orth Lecturer, Exercise and Sport Science +61 3 9214 3905 dorth@swinburne.edu.au
Associate Professor Steve Quinn Senior Biostatistician +61 3 9214 8412 sjquinn@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Mark Schier Lecturer +61 3 9214 8713 mschier@swinburne.edu.au
Reza Shirazi Lecturer, Human Anatomy +61 3 9214 8000 rshirazi@swinburne.edu.au
Dr David Sly Senior Lecturer, Clinical Technologies +61 3 9214 4370 dsly@swinburne.edu.au
Laura Tirlea Lecturer +61 3 9214 8000 lauratirlea@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Oren Tirosh Senior Lecturer, Biomechanics +61 3 9214 4381 otirosh@swinburne.edu.au
Debra Voogd Academic Tutor +61 3 9214 8000 dvoogd@swinburne.edu.au
Professor Nilmini Wickramasinghe Deputy Director, Iverson Health Innovation Research Institute +61 3 9214 5025 nwickramasinghe@swinburne.edu.au
Carrie Wong Lecturer, Nutrition +61 3 9214 8348 ckwong@swinburne.edu.au
Professor Andrew Wood Professor +61 3 9214 8867 andrewwood@swinburne.edu.au
Dr Sam Wu Lecturer, Exercise Science +61 3 39214 5566 sswu@swinburne.edu.au
Jascha Zimmermann Academic Tutor +61 3 9214 8000 jzimmermann@swinburne.edu.au

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Health Sciences and Biostatistics.

Explore our other departments, centres and clinics

Contact the Department of Health Sciences and Biostatistics

For general enquiries, please call +61 3 9214 3836 or send an email to hsadmin@swinburne.edu.au

Contact us