Explore our courses

  • Pen pinpointing numerals and calculations on a balance sheet.

    Accounting

    Accounting courses aren’t just about crunching numbers. Explore your options to learn accounting skills and achieve an accounting certification
  • Australian money, currency or cash

    Economics

    Economics is vital to business success, and advances in tech and innovation means it’s more exciting than ever. Learn more about our economics courses.
  • Australian Stock market

    Finance

    Become a crucial decision-maker with a world-class finance degree. Learn finance and you’ll have the skills to think strategically – and make a difference.

Professional recognition 

Accounting graduates may be eligible for membership with CPA Australia, Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, CIMA and the Institute of Public Accountants

Finance graduates may be eligible for membership with the Financial Services Institute of Australasia and the Stockbrokers Association of Australia. 

Our research 

The Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance has a strong research culture that includes international collaboration, competitive grants and high-quality publications. 

Our research covers areas as diverse as accounting, auditing and accountability, business and management, banking finance and investment, and applied economics.

Research seminars 

The Swinburne Accounting, Economics and Finance (AEF) group has conducted an active and successful series of research seminars on a wide variety of topics for staffs and PhD students since 2014. AEF conducts about ten research seminars per year (one research seminar every month, except December and January) and invites external staff in the field of Accounting, Economics and Finance to present their recent or ongoing projects. 

We invite both established researchers and innovative early career colleagues to present their research at the seminars. The series hosts presenters from other universities in Australia and overseas. 

The monthly research seminars run from February to November from 11.30am to 1pm and consist of a formal research presentation followed by an open forum style discussion with audience questions. For more information about AEF research seminars, contact our research seminar coordinator Dr Sarod Khandaker.

Our people

Name Position Contact Location
Associate Professor Malcolm Abbott Associate Professor, Economics +61 3 9214 5727
mabbott@swinburne.edu.au
BA1213
Associate Professor Subhash Abhayawansa Associate Professor, Accounting and Finance +61 3 9214 4327
sabhayawansa@swinburne.edu.au
BA1229
Professor Carol Adams Professor, Accounting +61 3 9214 8632
caadams@swinburne.edu.au
BA1128
Dr S M Miraj Ahmmod Lecturer, Accounting and Finance +61 3 9214 8536
sahmmod@swinburne.edu.au
BA1011
Dr Ewa Banasik Lecturer, Accounting and Finance +61 3 9214 8534
ebanasik@swinburne.edu.au
BA1225
Dr Richard Busulwa Lecturer and Researcher +61 3 9214 3394
rbusulwa@swinburne.edu.au
BA1112
Dr Mardy Chiah

Lecturer in Finance

Research Seminar Coordinator

+61 3 9214 5771
cchiah@swinburne.edu.au
BA1126
Associate Professor Ken Devos Associate Professor, Accounting +61 3 9214 3353
kdevos@swinburne.edu.au
BA1220
Dr Roshanthi Dias Lecturer, Finance +61 3 9214 5196
rdias@swinburne.edu.au
BA1125
Associate Professor Mary Dunkley

Chair, Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance

Associate Professor, Accounting

+61 3 9214 8436
mdunkley@swinburne.edu.au
BA1211
Christine Gajic Lecturer, Accounting +61 3 9214 4493
cgajic@swinburne.edu.au
BA1122
Dr Rob Gregory Lecturer, Accounting +61 3 9214 3869
rgregory@swinburne.edu.au
BA1042
Dr Reza Hajargasht Senior Lecturer, Economics +61 3 9214 4562
rhajargasht@swinburne.edu.au
BA1025
Professor Christine Jubb Professor, Accounting +61 3 9214 4618
cjubb@swinburne.edu.au
BA1113
Dr Sarod Khandaker

Course Director, Master of Finance & Banking

Lecturer in Finance

+61 3 9214 8456
skhandaker@swinburne.edu.au
BA1035
Dr Amir Moradi Motlagh Lecturer, Accounting +61 3 9214 3838
amoradi@swinburne.edu.au
BA1207
Dr Janine Muir Lecturer, Accounting +61 3 9214 5340
jamuir@swinburne.edu.au
BA1127
Dr Jeremy Nguyen Senior Lecturer +61 3 9214 8490
jdnguyen@swinburne.edu.au
BA1026
Dr Grainne Oates Associate Professor, Accounting and Finance +61 3 9214 5180
goates@swinburne.edu.au
BA1024
Associate Professor Mark Pickering Associate Professor, Accounting +61 3 9214 5419
mpickering@swinburne.edu.au
BA1219
Dr Margaret Salter Industry Fellow +61 3 9214 3393
msalter@swinburne.edu.au
BA1228
Dr Mark Shying Industry Fellow +61 3 9214 4390
mshying@swinburne.edu.au
BA1228
Masum Al Syed Lecturer, Financial Planning +61 3 9214 3562
msyed@swinburne.edu.au
BA1212
Dr Reza Tajaddini

Finance Discipline Leader

Course Director, Master of Financial Planning

Senior Lecturer in Finance

+61 3 9214 4321
rtajaddini@swinburne.edu.au
BA1018
Professor Abbas Valadkhani Professor, Economics +61 3 9214 8791
abbas@swinburne.edu.au
BA1201
Antony Van Eekelen

Deputy Director - FBL Undergraduate Programs

Senior Lecturer in FInance 

avaneekelen@swinburne.edu.au BA1104
Dr Dina Wahyuni Lecturer, Accounting +61 3 9214 5256
dwahyuni@swinburne.edu.au
BA1222
Dr Nandana Wasantha Pathiranage Lecturer, Accounting +61 3 9214 3336
nwasanthapathiranage@swinburne.edu.au
BA1127
Dr John Webster Lecturer jcwebster@swinburne.edu.au  
Dr Chee Jin Yap Senior Lecturer, Finance +61 3 9214 5464
cheejinyap@swinburne.edu.au
BA1031
Name Contact
Joseph Aponso japonso@swinburne.edu.au
Ruta Kothare rkothare@swinburne.edu.au
Dmytro Ostapenko dostapenko@swinburne.edu.au
Muhammad Sazali Zainudin mzainudin@swinburne.edu.au

Latest news

Find more news articles about the Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance. 

Explore our other departments and research centre

Contact the Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance

For general enquiries, please email engage@swinburne.edu.au.

Contact us