Mr Andrew Dix

Appointed by the University Council

Andrew Dix, Swinburne Council

Andrew is a graduate of the University of Melbourne, and holds the degree of Bachelor of Commerce, majoring in Accounting, Economics, and Commercial Law. He has also completed the Advanced Management Program at Columbia University in New York.

Andrew was a member of the Board of the Institute of Internal Auditors in Australia from 2005 until 2012, and served as National President in 2009/2011. During that time he participated in global forums determining the strategic direction for the Institute, and with the local Board in relating that back to Australia. He also chaired a Revenue Audit Steering Forum for the Victorian Department of Transport in 2012

Andrew retired from Telstra Corporation in 2013 where his most recent role was as the Executive Director responsible for Risk Management and Internal Audit. Earlier roles at Telstra were as the Chief Financial Officer, for a number of the major operating business units. His early career was with chartered accounting firm Price Waterhouse.

At Telstra, Andrew was involved with the Boards/Audit Committees of a number of offshore subsidiaries including Reach Ltd and CSL Ltd (Hong Kong), Mobitel (Sri Lanka) and Telstra New Zealand.

Since leaving Telstra, Andrew has embarked on a Non Executive career. In addition to Swinburne University of Technology, Andrew is on the Board of Western Leisure Services Pty Ltd and the Victorian Farmers Federation. Other major roles include Audit and Risk Committee Chair at the Bureau of Meteorology and Member at Services Australia (previously the Department of Human Services). He also serves on a number of State and Local Government Audit and Risk Committees.

Andrew is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Certified Member of the Institute of Internal Auditors, and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Current committees

  • Chair Audit and Risk Committee (2014–current)
  • Executive and Remuneration Committee (2014–current)

Previous committees

  • Audit and Risk Committee member (2013)