Centre for Micro-Photonics

Facilities

The Centre for Micro-Photonics has extensive world-class facilities including:

  • full nanofabrication capability
  • one of the largest collections of femtosecond laser systems in Australia
  • comprehensive microscopy and imaging systems
  • laboratories for bio-photonics and biomedical research.

We have over 25 laboratories covering more than 2000m2 that support our research program. This includes 200m2 of class 1000 clean-rooms featuring equipment such as:

  • electron beam and Ion beam projection lithography
  • plasma etching and sputtering
  • a Nano 'Frazor' AFM based lithography tool
  • ultra-short pulse laser evaporation.

Our solar-cell pilot line facility features a newly commissioned 6 chamber PECVD cluster tool for deposition of a wide range of thin film materials including amorphous silicon, silicon nitride and more.

Our people

NamePositionPhoneEmail
Professor David Moss Director +61 3 9214 8146 dmoss@swin.edu.au
Dan Kapsaskis Operations Manager +61 3 9214 4884 dkapsaskis@swin.edu.au
Professor Baohua Jia Academic Lab Coordinator +61 3 9214 4819 bjia@swin.edu.au
Professor Saulius Juodkazis Academic Lab Coordinator +61 3 9214 8718 sjuodkazis@swin.edu.au
Associate Professor James Chon Academic Lab Coordinator +61 3 9214 4326 jchon@swin.edu.au
Professor Andrew Clayton Academic Lab Coordinator +61 3 9214 5719 aclayton@swin.edu.au
Professor Sarah Russell Academic Lab Coordinator +61 3 9214 8368  srussell@swin.edu.au
Dr Tania Moein Technical Engineer +61 3 9214 8019 tmoein@swin.edu.au
Dr Xiaorui Zheng Technical Engineer +61 3 9214 3537 xiaoruizheng@swin.edu.au
Dr Tomas Katkus Technical Engineer +61 3 9214 8743 tkatkus@swin.edu.au
Dr Jonathan Tollerud Technical Engineer +61 3 9214 3430 jtollerud@swin.edu.au
Nguyen Hoai An Le (An Le) Technical Engineer +61 3 9214 3401 ale@swin.edu.au