Lodgement instructions and deadlines

Make sure you submit to the correct review body (as determined in levels of ethical review).

SUHREC review

Original signed (clipped not stapled) hard copy plus four (4) copies (preferably double-sided) plus electronic submission to resethics@swinburne.edu.au*

SUHREC deadline dates 2018

  • Thursday 27 September
  • Friday 26 October
  • Friday 23 November

SUHREC meeting dates 2018

  • Friday 12 October
  • Friday 09 November
  • Friday 07 December

SHESC review

Original signed (clipped not stapled) hard copy plus one (1) copy (preferably double-sided) plus electronic submission to resethics@swinburne.edu.au*

Please note that SHESC Meetings are generally scheduled within 9 working days of the deadlines. Each submission deadline corresponds to the subsequent meeting date.

SHESC submission deadline dates 2018

  • Monday 24 September
  • Monday 8 October
  • Monday 22 October
  • Monday 5 November
  • Monday 19 November
  • Monday 3 December

SHESC meeting dates 2018

  • Friday 21 September
  • Friday 5 October
  • Friday 19 October
  • Friday 2 November
  • Friday 16 November
  • Friday 30 November
  • Friday 14 December

* Note: Electronic submissions should be:

  • One PDF file only (please submit as a searchable pdf)
  • Page numbered, with no blank pages
  • Clearly identified in the footer of the document as version 1
  • Dated

Human research ethics drop-in sessions

Are you preparing a human research ethics application? Or do you have questions regarding ethics clearances you currently have? Swinburne Research Ethics, Integrity and Biosafety is launching ethics drop-in sessions for research staff and students to:

  • discuss ethics requirements for your research
  • get help preparing ethics applications
  • discuss the committee’s feedback on ethics applications that have already been reviewed
  • get help submitting modification requests or annual reports
  • raise any other queries you have about human research ethics.

Drop-in sessions

Sessions are held every second Wednesday from 3pm to 4.30pm. 

  • Wednesday 26 September
  • Wednesday 10 October
  • Wednesday 24 October
  • Wednesday 7 November
  • Wednesday 21 November
  • Wednesday 5 December
  • Wednesday 19 December 

To make an appointment email resethics@swinburne.edu.au. You are welcome to just ‘drop in’ but preference will be given to those who have made a booking. If this time/day doesn’t suit you, please contact us to arrange an alternative time.

Sessions are held in the Office of Research Ethics, Integrity and Biosafety, SPS building, level 1.

Note: there is a limit of three appointments per iteration so please book ahead.

Faculty-specific drop-in sessions

We are also holding the following faculty-specific drop-in sessions:

FSET

  • Thursday 20 September, 2.30 to 4pm, ATC 1028

FHAD

  • Thursday 4 October, 11am to 12.30pm, ATC 711

FBL

  • Thursday 18 October, 10.30am - 12pm, AGSE 326

Please note: bookings are not required for faculty-specific sessions.


Other review:

Please contact the Research Ethics Office.

Where to submit

Ethics applications (completed and signed original plus correct number of copies) can be lodged in person:

Swinburne Research Ethics Office
Level 1, Swinburne Place South (SPS Building)
Wakefield Street, Hawthorn

or by mail:

Research Ethics Office
Swinburne Research (H68)
Swinburne University of Technology
P O Box 218
Hawthorn VIC 3122