Skip to Content

Professor Gu selected to join ARC Research Evaluation Committee

Monday September 13 2010

CMP Director Min Gu has been selected by the Australian Research Council (ARC) to form a Research Evaluation Committee (REC) on Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences
as part of the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative.

The Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative assesses research quality within Australia's higher education institutions using a combination of indicators and expert review by committees comprising experienced, internationally-recognised experts. ERA uses leading researchers to evaluate research in eight discipline clusters. ERA will detail areas within institutions and disciplines that are internationally competitive, as well as point to emerging areas where there are opportunities for development and further investment.1

The evaluation of data submitted for the 2010 ERA initiative by Australia’s higher education institutions will be undertaken by Research Evaluation Committees (RECs). RECs are established at the discipline cluster level and comprise distinguished and internationally-recognised researchers with expertise in research evaluation. There are 149 REC members in total appointed from Australia and overseas, and broadly representative of the disciplines within each Cluster.2

Professor Gu has been selected for the Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences cluster.

Further information can be found at the (