Skip to Content

News Archive - 2007

News from the year 2007

01.10.2007 Outcome Australian Research Council grants

The minister for education has announced the outcome of the ARC ( grant scheme. The CMP was succesfull in gaining four highly competitive ARC grants this year:

ARC Linkage
Prof. M. Gu, and Dr. D. Morrish
Project Title: Spectroscopy of complex and biological micro-objects for biosensing applications

ARC Linkage International
Dr. D. Day, and Prof. K. Sasaki
Project Title: Nanometric optical sensing for characterisation of microbioreactors

Prof. M. Gu, Dr. G. Zhou, Prof. T. Wilson, and Dr. M.J. Booth
Project Title: Adaptive aberration compensation in high refractive index materials for next-generation active microphotonic devices

ARC Discovery
Prof. M. Gu, Dr. A. Boussioutas, and Dr. H. Xie
Project Title: Functional nonlinear optical endoscopy - the third-generation optical endoscopy technology toward early cancer detection at a cellular level

20.09.2007 Endoscope developed at the CMP highlighted in Nature Photonics Technology Focus

A CMP research paper ( on three dimensional edoscopy that appeared in the Journal of Biomedical Optics has been selected as one of five research highlights in the latest Technology Focus issue in Nature Photonics. The paper describes the use of a double clad photonic crystal fibre combined with a 2 dimensional MEMS mirror for three dimensional imaging of deep tissue.

23.08.2007 Professor Min Gu elected to the council of the Australian Optical Society

Professor Min Gu has been elected to the council of the Australian Optical Society ( for a period of 2 years (2007-2009). The Australian Optical Society (AOS) is a non-profit organisation for the advancement of optics in Australia.

08.08.2007 Professor David Haylock new adjunct Professorial fellow in CMP

Professor David Haylock from the Australian Stem Cell Centre ( has been appointed by the Swinburne University Council as a Professorial Fellow at the Centre for Micro-Photonics. He has extensive knowledge and expertise in the biology of human haemopoietic stem and progenitor cells. Professor Haylock will be actively involved in the bioreactor project.

23.05.2007 Publication in Science for Sarah Russell

Our congratulations to Prof. Sarah Russell for her recent publication in Science titled "Asymmetric T Lymphocyte Division in the Initiation of Adaptive Immune Responses" (Science 315, 1687-1691 (2007)

22.05.2007 Thesis Ling Fu

Our congratulations to Ms. Ling Fu who was awarded the degree of Doctor of Philosophy by Research for her thesis titled "Fibre-optic Nonlinear Optical Microscopy and Endoscopy".

22.05.2007 Thesis Baohua Jia

Our congratulations to Ms. Baohua Jia who received the degree Doctor of Philosophy by Research for her thesis titled "A study on the complex evanescent focal region of a high numerical aperture objective and its applications".

26.03.2007 Fellow of the AAS

Our congratulations to Professor Min Gu who has been elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. He is one of only 16 people to be elected onto this distinguished panel for 2007.

30.01.2007 Guest Professorship

Our congratulations to Professor Min Gu who has been awarded a Cheung Kong Scholars Program Guest Professor in the field of Biophotoincs from the Chinese Ministry of Education. The Cheung Kong Professorship award is considered to be one of the most prestigious academic awards in China. Its Guest Professor Award is given to professors who have outstanding academic distinction abroad to participate in research activities at high-ranked universities in China.