Skip to Content

2012 Seminar Programme

Date Speaker Title Abstract
Monday 30 January

Prof. L.(Kobus) Kuipers
FOM Institute AMOLF, Amsterdam,
The Netherlands

Light Fields at the Nanoscale

Monday 13 February Prof. Jeremy Hutson
University of Durham, UK
Towards Ultracold Molecule Formation in RbCs, RbSr and LiYb

Monday 27 February Dr Felix Frank
Imperial College, London, UK
Attosecond Science - Stirring Electrons

Friday 2 March

Dr Tapio Simula
School of Physics, Monash University, Melbourne

Application of Optical Flux Lattices to Spinor Bose-Einstein Condensates

Wednesday 14 March Gerd Schröder-Turk
Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Butterfly Photonic Crystals and Beyond: Minimal Surfaces and Periodic Nets

Friday 30 March Joined SOLL & COEST Workshop
Nonlinear Waves in Optics, Oceanography and Quantum Mechanics

Friday 4 May Dr Félix Werner
CNRS, Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, Ecole Normale Superieure, France
Feynman Diagrams Versus Fermi-gas Feynman Emulator

Monday 7 May Professor Shanhui Fan
Stanford Universit, California, USA
Nanophotonics for Solar and Thermal Applications

Friday 25 May A/Prof. Chris Blake
Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing (CAS), SUT
Measuring Cosmic Dark Energy Using Galaxy Surveys

Friday 8 June Prof. D. N. Jamieson
Centre for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology (CQC2T), School of Physics, University of Melbourne
Towards the Quantum Internet of the Mid-21st C: Building Quantum Bits in Silicon

Friday 22 June Dr Seth Olsen
School of Mathematics and Physics, The University of Queensland
The Chemistry and Physics of

Monday 30 July Dr Yongbing Xu & Dr Jing Wu
The University of York, UK
Hybrid Spintronic Materials and Devices & All Optical Switching in TbFeCo Films

Friday 3 August Prof. Mark Hillery
Hunter College, City University of New York
Quantum Machines: A Strange History

Thursday 9 August Dr Qiaoliang Bao
Department of Materials Engineering, Monash University
Graphene Photonics: Light Creation, Modulation and Detection

Friday 10 August Dr Antoine Dubrouil
Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Swinburne University of Technology
Post Compression of Intense Ultra Short Pulses and Spatial Shaping for Generation of Intense Attosecond Pulses

Friday 14 September Prof. Lloyd Hollenberg
Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, School of Physics, University of Melbourne
Quantum Technologies Based on Single Spins in the Solid-State - Tales from Quantum Computing to Quantum Probes in Biology


Friday 28 September Dr Dayong Jin
Department of Physics and Astronomy, Faculty of Science, Macquarie University, NSW
Lanthanide Luminescence Materials and Time-resolved Biophotonics

Tuesday 9 October Prof. Ed Hinds
Centre for Cold Matter, Imperial College, London
Is the Electron Round: the Search for the eEDM

Friday 12 October Dr Qiongyi He
Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy,
Swinburne University of Technology
Genuine Multipartite Entanglement and Einstein-Podolsky-Rosen Steering

Thursday 25 October Dr Gregory J. Wilson
CSIRO Energy Technology, Melbourne
Photovoltaics@CSIRO: Scope and Capability of our Organic Solar Cell R&D, Fabrication and Standardisation

Friday 26 October Dr Liangcai Cao
Tsinghua University , Beijing China
Volume Holographic Optical Storage and Optical Computing

Friday 9 November Prof. Peter Drummond
Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Swinburne University of Technology
Simulating Physics with Computers: a Myth?

Friday 23 November Philip Dolan
Centre for Micro-Photonics, Swinburne University of Technology
Ultra-Small Open Access Microcavities for Enhancement of the Light-Matter Interaction