Skip to Content

2009 Seminar Programme

Date Speaker Title Abstract
Friday 30 January Dr Ed Hinds
Centre for Cold Matter, Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College, London
Quantum Optics on Atom Chips

Monday 9 February Prof. Tony Wilson
Dept of Engineering Science, University of Oxford, UK
Making Light Work in Microscopy

Friday 13 February Dr Harry Quiney
ARC Centre of Excellence for Coherent X-ray Science, University of Melbourne
Towards the Imaging of Single Biomolecules

Friday 6 March Dr Michael Mark
Institute for Experimental Physics, University of Innsbruck, Austria & Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, SUT
Ultracold Atomic and Molecular Quantum Gases - a Big Playground

Tuesday 20 March Dr Alexander Jesacher
Dept for Engineering Science, University of Oxford
Active and Adaptive Optics
in Microscopy

Friday 17 April Prof. Hui Hu
Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne
Ultracold Atomic Fermi Gases in the Strongly Interacting Regime

Friday 15 May Dr Tim Vaughan
Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Swinburne University of Technology
Tackling the Within-Host Stochastic Dynamics of HIV Infection
(or: Why Virology Needs Theoretical Physicists)

Friday 26 June Dr Rachel Won
Associate Editor of Nature Photonics

How to Get Published in Nature Journals?


Thursday 2 July Dr Michel Orrit
Molecular Nano-Optics and Spins, Leiden Institute of Physics, The Netherlands

Single Molecules as Optical Probes for Structure and Dynamics


Thursday 9 July Dr Kai Dieckmann
Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich and Max-Planck-Institute of Quantum Optics, Munich, Germany

Ultracold Heteronuclear Fermi-Fermi Molecules


Friday 17 July Dr Tõnu Pullerits
Chemical Physics, Lund University, Sweden

Photon Echo Spectroscopy Reveals Structure-Dynamics Relationships in Carotenoids


Friday 24 July Prof. Matthew Bailes
Centre for Astrophysics & Supercomputing, Swinburne University of Technology

Radio Astronomy in Software


Friday 7 August

Dr Martin Straub
Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems, Dresden, Germany

Waveguide Modes in Silicon Photonic Crystal Slabs


Tuesday 18 August

Dr Andrew Clayton
Cell Biophysics Laboratory, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Melbourne

EGF Receptor in the Lime Light


Friday 21 August

Dr Jeff Davis
Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Swinburne University of Technology

Understanding Energy Transfer and Photosynthesis through Multidimensional Spectroscopy


Friday 18 September

Prof. Chennupati Jagadish
Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering, Australian National University

Nanowires for Optoelectronic Device Applications


Friday 2 October

Prof. Yanrong Song
Beijing University of Technology, China

Optically-Pumped Vertical-External-Cavity Surface-Emitting Lasers


Friday 30 October

A/Prof. Joanne Etheridge
Director, Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy and Dept. of Materials Engineering, Monash University

Determining Local Atomic Structures Using Atomic-scale Electron Beams


Friday 6 November

Prof. Kristian Helmerson
School of Physics, Monash University

Superfluidity in Atomic Bose Gases


Friday 13 November

Dr Scott Wade
Centre for Atom Optics and Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Swinburne University of Technology

Sensor Development and Application