Swinburne: Celebrating 25 years as a university

Video transcript

This transcript contains captions that appeared on screen over a slideshow of images of Swinburne University of Technology’s history, places and people.

In 1908 Swinburne opened its doors as Eastern Suburbs Technical College.

On 1 July 1992 Swinburne gained university status, becoming the sixth university in Victoria, Australia.

Our foundation vice-chancellor Iain Wallace and chancellor Richard Pratt were there from the beginning.

“Iain said that Swinburne shouldn’t try and do all the things that other universities do … it had to take risks, and Richard liked that approach because he was an entrepreneur,” Jeanne Pratt

Dr Andrew Peters was a Swinburne student in the ‘90s. Today his focus is embedding Aboriginal culture and knowledge into Swinburne.

Professor Matthew Bailes arrived at Swinburne in 1998. He has put Swinburne at the cutting-edge of astrophysics.

Sharon Rice is Executive Director of Major Projects in Pathways and Vocational Education. She has strived since 1999 to ensure high-quality vocational education.

Alumnus Philip Ting AM was a driving force in establishing our campus in Sarawak, Malaysia in 2000.

A PhD student in 2002, Professor Baohua Jia is now a global trailblazer in nanophotonics.